Thread: Newbie looking for advice

Newbie looking for advice

Gene Cafe Coffee Roaster $850 - Free Beans Free Freight
    Hi Im just new tonight to CS. Ive had a Gaggia Classic *for 6-7 years and MDF Grinder for about 3 years and its time to upgrade. Im keen to hear from anyone thats made the jump to the next level. Im considering Giotto Premium Plus and was hoping to stick with the MDF grinder. Any suggestions welcome. Because of where we live we often have visitors on the weekend and Im finding the Gaggia a little slow when making more than 2 cups! I want to be able to sit and enjoy my coffee also!!

Not sure Ive posted this in the right spot!!

Re: Newbie looking for advice

The GPP is a good machine and has lots of followers here. It is usually paired with something like the Mini Mazzer or Macap M4.

I suspect your grinder will not be a quality match with the Giotto, although I have no direct experience with it.

Im sure someone with MDF experience will be along shortly.

Greg

TC

Hi YV,

While you might get by with the MDF, you will be quite some way away from the best coffee out of your machine. If you can budget for an upgrade, do it.

In my experience, clients who head out with a new and much better machine thinking that they will make do with an inferior grinder are usually disappointed and purchase a new grinder in the next few weeks.

You will easily find a buyer for your old grinder or you may wish to assign it to decaf or plunger duties.

Happy shopping ;)

Chris

I agree with Chris.

I have an MDF whuich I purchased 2nd hand from a CSer to replace a messy Sunbeam EM0450.

I use it at work with a Sunbeam 6910.

Its a great little grinder but theres no way Id consider using it with my Expobar at home, when Ive got a Macap M5 to do justice to the machine.

I suggest you sell the MDF and put the proceeds towards a better grinder.

Caffeine Junky

Hi YV, welcome to CS.