Thread: Just upgraded ... also: hi everybody! ;-)

Just upgraded ... also: hi everybody! ;-)

Gene Cafe Coffee Roaster $850 - Free Beans Free Freight
    Hi there,

This is my first post, after a fairly brief bit of lurking here and there. Semi-introduction, semi-our machine post ahead; I wasnt exactly sure where to put it.

But hi 8-)

Im very new to even drinking coffee, though my wife is a longstanding coffee-head ;) When we moved into our house 2 1/2 years ago we got an automagical (autotragical?) DeLonghi machine for her: push button, get espresso ... apparently.

We went thoroughly off that at Christmas when my brother-in-law made us coffee. Rather shortly after we went and got the same machine: a very entry-level Breville jobby. It was ... better than the DeLonghi :P It was improved somewhat by getting a single-walled filter and a proper(-ish) tamper, but despite my best efforts the results were inconsistent. The teensy-tiny steam wand seemed to take half an hour to heat a small jug of milk too ::) While I didnt want to blame my tools, I really did think that the results I was getting were less consistent than what I was putting in. And the milk really sucked.

So we took a trip ("just looking") to Di Bartoli yesterday. Ofra helped us "just look at" an Isomac Tea (I love that you can use Tea to make coffee :P ), and today weve been "just looking at" coffees that have improved rather a lot. 8-) I looooove this machine. It looks great, its enjoyable to use - and it allows me to make such better coffee (helped Im sure, by the grinder we got with it, which is unsurprisingly way better than the little Sunbeam burr grinder wed been using :P )