Thread: I cant believe the difference.

I cant believe the difference.

Gene Cafe Coffee Roaster $850 - Free Beans Free Freight
    I just thought Id post an update on my 2 week old VBM Domobar Junior. When I first bought it, I thought I would persevere with my Sunbeam Grinder for a while. I was getting a decent extraction and pour, but it just didnt taste right. Now Im not good at proper descriptions like chocolate, blueberry, etc - it just didnt taste right - at least not as good as my Sunbeam 6910.

Now there were lots of variables - ME for a start. Although my dosing/tamping technique was consistent and I was getting good extractions, my milk texturing was awful, so I assumed my milk was affecting the taste of the coffee, and it probably was.

But then I bought a new Mazzer Mini during the week. I cant believe the difference. Even the quick pours which I was getting while dialling it in, tasted better than anything my Sunbeam produced!!

This whole process is like a big jigsaw puzzle and slowly its coming together. Im still working on my milk, but I am sure the Mazzer has made a HUGE difference.

Some observations. I still have to get used to the doser and the THWACK THWACK technique. I was tossing up the Compak K3 touch because I was scared of the doser. At the moment its slightly annoying, but Im sure Ill get used to the idea of having a doser. I might have to tape mod it because there are a few grinds left at the bottom of the doser. Still not sure if I should have got doserless or not, I guess that argument will go on forever and there is no right or wrong.

Finally a big THANK YOU to Renzo and David at Di Bartoli for your patience and guidance. I went in during the week to buy my grinder and was given an impromptu 1 hour milk texturing lesson. Thank you guys, its been a pleasure dealing with you.