Thread: Where do I start?

Where do I start?

Gene Cafe Coffee Roaster $850 - Free Beans Free Freight
    Hi, Im new here - trying to decide what would suit me best. Was hoping some of you experienced people would be able to help!!

I have no experience with making coffee other than an Aeropress right now - yes that mean I just buy pre-ground :(

Budget would be ~3.5k - would go over for something special perhaps? *;)

I know this provides lots of choices... I guess most important for me is something that is consistent and quick/easy. I dont want the machine to be too big - Melbourne apartment living = small kitchens :( I wont be plumbing it in. I dont want the space between the grouphead and drainage floor to be too small. I like dials and readouts :)

It sounds like a dual boiler + PID or easy temp control would be great, but does that exist in this price range (bearing in mind I have to get a grinder as well)??

Also I saw some things about .... is it a Malkohnig or Beretza vario? But information and retail availability seems scarce? Does anyone know if that is a good choice for a grinder and how much it actually is / where one would get it?

Thanks in advance!
    Martin

Re: Where do I start?

Hi Martin,

welcome and where in the country do you live? The best thing of all is get along to a sponsor of this site if you can and have a hands on play for a start :)

The Mahlkonig and Beratza are more popular in the US on the grinder front but Mazzer and Kompak will work well and good availability in Australia. If your looking at the Minore 3 for example you have $800 left for a grinder at least so you will have a great package to play with.

Quote Originally Posted by 0106020D050F1A0A0D04630 link=1272069630/1#1 date=1272076107
    The best thing of all is get along to a sponsor of this site if you can and have a hands on play for a start *