Thread: Looking for my first Espresso Machine

Looking for my first Espresso Machine

Gene Cafe Coffee Roaster $850 - Free Beans Free Freight
    Hi There

After trying and failing with semi auto machines, I am feeling the need to take the plunge into Manual machines.

I have a budget of around $1500 but that is for everything, machine, grinder etc as I have nothing.

Can you please recommend me which machines I should start looking at? I have no experience using them or maintaining them so any info you can give me would be fantastic.

I am coming from a Jura J5!! Looking forward to a fabulous cup of coffee ;)

Re: Looking for my first Espresso Machine

Hi WACoffee, and welcome.

What type of coffee do you drink (black/ with milk) and how many do you make at a time and per day?

By "manual", do you mean a machine where you grind the coffee into a portafilter and then lift a lever or push a button to get espresso? Theyre often called semi autos whereas a Jura J5 which grinds and extracts at the push of a button is a super auto.

Hi

Thanks for the response Jitterbug.

I drink lattes so it will mostly be milky coffees. About 4 per day however all my friends/relatives want one when they come over so on weekends it will be more. Beautiful milk is important to me as well as a nice strong shot.

I want to do it all myself, grind etc.

I am looking at the Nuova Simonelli Oscar as I believe it is great for milk and easy to use.

I am in WA and hope to be able to see one in the flesh before I purchase one from the East ;) Unless of course I get a deal over here from a CS sponsor - not sure that any WA sponsors sell them though???

Happy to be guided any which way!! Is there much in the way of maintenance with the full on manual machines?

Well clearly I dont mean full on manual machine!!

Am learning alot so excuse my ignorance!!

Im after a semi automatic!!

Have you looked at this one?

http://coffeesnobs.com.au/YaBB.pl?num=1310265562