Thread: Giotto or Silvia

Giotto or Silvia

Gene Cafe Coffee Roaster $850 - Free Beans Free Freight
    Hi all,
    I am considering getting either (a) Rancilio Silvia with Rocky grinder or (b) ECM Giotto Premium with mini Mazzer.

I can get the silvia/rocky combo for about $1,100 but the ECM/mazz will cost about $3,200. Given I have never used either of these machines before I would like to know if i do spend the extra $2,100 on the Giotto that it is worth the extra cost.

Does anyone have any thoughts???
    thanks - andy

Re: Giotto or Silvia

If I were you and could afford the Giotto and Mazzer now I would buy them now. 8-)

The HX Giotto and Mazer is an upgrade from the Silvia/Rocky. Both are more capable machines than the Silvia/Rocky combo, but that is reflected in the price. Many Silvia/Rocky owners end up upgrading to the Giotto or similar HX or Dual Boiler machines.

In the end it is a decision you have to be happy with and I think talking to a site sponsor would be the next best move.

andy77

Welcome to CoffeeSnobs.

There is no doubt that a Giotto / Mazzer is a far better combination than the Silvia/Rocky - as is my La Cimbali combo compared to the Giotto/Mazzer...

You basically get what you pay for..... and the more you can afford to pay (especially for the grinder) the better the results will be and the flexibility of making your coffees will be greater - especially if they are milk based.

The Silvia is an excellent machine for its price point - dont get me wrong - but it cant be compared to a machine costing several times its price. The result wont be several times as good due to the law of "diminishing returns"...... three times more dollars wont get you a three times better machine - or make three times better espresso either!.