Thread: Faema E98 or la SCALA Butterfly?

Faema E98 or la SCALA Butterfly?

Gene Cafe Coffee Roaster $850 - Free Beans Free Freight
    Hi everyone,
    looking at either a Faema E98 semi-auto machine or a la SCALA Butterfly....
    Love both machines, would like to get the Pros & Cons on each?

Would be for home use with mainly milk based drinks.
    New to this forum - love what Ive seen so far!
    Regards to all

Flynn

Re: Faema E98 or la SCALA Butterfly?

Gday Flynn and welcome to Coffeesnobs.
    Ill preface the following with "I have no experience with either machine."
    Are these the two machines that youve narrowed your choice down to? If so, how did you come to your decision? The two machines, whilst both in a similar class (ie HX prosumer), they are in different leagues, as evidenced by the difference in $$$.
    If its only down to these two, my humble suggestion would be that if you have the money to buy a Faema E98 (the same as a La Cimbali Junior), that would be the one to buy. It has an excellent build quality and reputation.
    If you havent thought about other machines, Id be in contact with one of the esteemed site sponsors who will help you make a qualified decision.
    What sort of grinder do you have? As this is probably the most important part of the equation.
    Welcome again,
    Steve.

Thanks for your reply Steve,
    Its a weird way of finding out about machines, but I managed to "have a play" on the Faema E98 at a Peugeot Dealer here in Sydney (told you it was weird!) and thought it was a Fab unit!!
    The la Scala Butterfly I found on Alan Frews website, and from there did some investigating but I havent seen one in the flesh. Another machine that I saw today was a La Nuova Era Cuadra - what a georgeous contraption! and very similar in specs to the Butterfly.

On the subject of grinders, Im thinking of the Compak K3, over a Rancilio Rocky?
    what do you think of the K3 machine?
    Cheers!

Gday Flynn,