Thread: Electrolux Gallery EE600X

Electrolux Gallery EE600X

Gene Cafe Coffee Roaster $850 - Free Beans Free Freight
    Hi Guys,

Ive had one of these for a while:
    http://www.electrolux.com.au/node38.aspx?productId=2688

We originally had it built in as part of a new kitchen. Ive recently taken an interest in it again and was wondering if anyone has any experience with this machine and if it would be possible to make a great cup of coffee with it or am I just wasting my time even trying.

Im an almost total newbie when it comes to making a decent cup of coffee, but Ive given it a go with this machine with varying results. Mostly the coffee is too watery, without enough crema. Ive tried tamping using the built in tamper but it doesnt quite fit properly. I was going to buy a tamper and/or try using pods to see if it is even possible to make a decent cup. What I really need is an experienced barista to come around and test it out!

Any advice is appreciated.

Thanks.

Re: Electrolux Gallery EE600X

Hi saadro,

Welcome to CS.

Some questions for you:
    Is the coffee fresh?
    EG: Was it roasted less than a couple of weeks ago. Stale beans will put you on the road to failure right away.

Are you grinding just prior to making the coffee? Once you grind, beans are best used within a few minutes.

Is the grinder set fine enough? Watery coffee can also be indicative of the grind being too coarse.

A custom tamper is a good idea (but see how things go with the other variables first), pods are NOT a good idea.

Any idea what size the coffee basket is?
    Do you know if it is pressurised? EG Does it have a lot of little holes across the whole bottom of the basket, or just a few? Just a few means pressurised and thats another possible issue for crema.

Brett.

Hi Brett,

Thanks for the reply.

The coffee beans Im using right now are of the packaged variety. They were in vacuum sealed packaging. I use the built in grinder so I use the coffee immediately.