Results 1 to 28 of 28

Thread: Thoughts, opinions, ideas sought

  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Posts
    12

    Thoughts, opinions, ideas sought

    Gene Cafe Coffee Roaster $850 - Free Beans Free Freight
    Hi all
    Im a newbie and this is my first post and Im nervous :-[ (dont want to write the wrong thing).
    In short, Im in the market (fingers xd) for a great coffee machine and grinder.
    After weeks + hours of research on this site etc I have a very short list of the path I am heading down.
    1. GPP
    2. DJExtra or Regal
    3. Vibiemme Domobar Super
    These choices have all been made purely from reading reviews and looking at the pretty pictures ::) as I live regionally and am 4 hours away from Melbs or Adels.
    However, this week I am heading up to Melbs and will visit Chris from Talk Coffee and have a look and play. (Just want to mention Im a teensy weensy bit excited :))
    Anyway, Im no coffeesnob and when I read all the techi stuff Im definitely a layperson - but... I do know I like to drink good tasting coffee...
    Just so you know will be drinking mainly cappucino style coffee so milk froth is important. I am keen to learn the art of pulling a good shot etc but at the end of the day I just want to be able to make a good coffee without too much hoo ha.
    I am diving in the deep end with this purchase but I am hoping that this set up will last the long haul - I dont want to be upgrading in the near future ;)
    Im interested to hear ur thoughts etc on these machines and also whether there are others that I should also consider. I do realise this decision will all come down to my personal preference etc but Im just keen to hear from other CS.
    Im also aware that the grinder I choose is very important too... (hey u couldnt accuse me of being uninformed ;D) so thoughts on that too would be much apreciated, I was thinking along the lines of mini mazzer. Budget for both would be $3,500 max.
    Thanks for reading and hope to hear from you all soon :D

  2. #2
    Senior Member flynnaus's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    Sydney
    Posts
    4,078

    Re: Thoughts, opinions, ideas sought

    Welcome CP

    Those machines seem to be at the top of most CSers HX short-list. You wont go wrong with the GPP and it is dream to texture milk with.

    Happy hunting! What grinder will you get. Chris will probably suggest pairing it with a Mazzer Mini or Macap M4 but uncross those fingers and try to make sure you dont compromise too much on what the heart and wallet are telling you.

  3. #3
    Mal Dimal's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    Warwick, QLD
    Posts
    16,764

    Re: Thoughts, opinions, ideas sought

    Welcome "coffee=personality"..... [smiley=thumbsup.gif]

    Going to a specialist coffee professional like Talk Coffee and Chris is the best thing you can do. Youve got a budget that will set you up with a very, very nice home-coffee-bar and Chris is a great bloke to deal with. You cant beat a hands-on demo with the machines on your short-list and Chris should just about have all of them lined up ready to go for you.

    All the best mate and dont forget to come back and show us what you bought. We all love photos of bright, shiny new coffee equipment around here.... ;D

    Cheers,
    Mal.

  4. #4
    Sleep is overrated Thundergod's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    Sydney
    Posts
    10,496

    Re: Thoughts, opinions, ideas sought

    I dove in the deep end too and have been pleased with my purchases since day 1.
    Chris will help you as he did me.

    Welcome to CS.

  5. #5
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Posts
    12

    Re: Thoughts, opinions, ideas sought

    Thanks guys!

    Good to know Im heading down the right path. I was a bit worried I was getting tunnel vision for the 3 I listed. Im sure theres plenty of worthy machines out there :)

    I look forward to sharing my new obsession with u all soon ;)

  6. #6
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Posts
    5

    Re: Thoughts, opinions, ideas sought

    I have that same setup as you were thinking about... the GPP and Mazzer Mini. I have been extremely please with this purchase. It is enormously easy to texture milk and you can pull great consistent shots. Highly reccommend it.

    However, I would recommend you visit one of the shops to have a play before you make any purchases. This is so you can get to know the feel of each of these machines and see which one you would like to be making great coffees on for the next umpteen years.

    Matt

  7. #7
    Senior Member Koffee_Kosmo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    Brisbane
    Posts
    5,113

    Re: Thoughts, opinions, ideas sought

    I also went the path of a great machine & grinder from the get go
    With the Bezzera Galatea & Macap M4D grinder I have been making beautiful coffee from day one both are worth every cent

    As for reliability after 1.5 years nothing but a group seal has been replaced on the Bezzera

    Good luck and happy shopping
    KK

  8. #8
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Posts
    12

    Re: Thoughts, opinions, ideas sought

    Now adding Bezzera Galatea to the list to look at :D

  9. #9
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Posts
    169

    Re: Thoughts, opinions, ideas sought

    Go for the prettiest one!

    They all do a fantastic job.
    Or you could go with whichever is on special at the time and use any surplus money for a nice grinder/tamper/jug/bag of coffee/etc... Those accessorie$ do add up

  10. #10
    Life-long Learner DesigningByCoffee's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    Millthorpe NSW
    Posts
    2,038

    Re: Thoughts, opinions, ideas sought

    Hi C=P
    Welcome!
    All mentioned are great machines - I loved the curvy lines and build quality of the Diadema and the M4 is a lovely grinder - but really at this end of the scale the differences are split hairs - the great thing with all these machines is that they disappear into the background of the process and let you focus on your technique and the actual coffee differences - and I love that! No more frustrations with the gear (two minutes to froth a jug of milk while the shot goes cold, or the machine choking when you tamp 5g too hard ;D) but simply working on things you can fix - the nut on the end on the flavours you prefer in the cup!

    Happy hunting!
    DBC

  11. #11
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Posts
    190

    Re: Thoughts, opinions, ideas sought

    I was in the same boat as you a few months ago, but I did spend a lot of time on here researching and reading posts and that helped me come up with what I was willing to spend.

    I ended up getting 2 second hand machines (grinder + expobar) from here and thoroughly enjoy them.

    One thing I should mention (as did skelly) is that probably like me you have no other coffee equipment, so factor that in to your budget as you will spend a few $$ on those. Eg cups, tamper, milk jugs, cleaners, knock box, and a course is highly recommended.

    I think I started on the lower end simply because of budget and also I wanted to make sure that I really did want to do this. I am very happy and enjoy experimenting and making my own coffee, and already looking to upgrade. ;D Am trying to stop myself until I at least have it for a year.

    Good luck in your choice.

  12. #12
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Posts
    12

    Re: Thoughts, opinions, ideas sought

    Hey people
    I am now the proud owner of a Rocket GPP (well almost, just waiting for new GPP stock to arrive) and a Macap M4D. Woop Woop :D
    Many thanks to Chris from Talk Coffee.
    Honestly, it was a tough choice and I really dont think I would have gone wrong with any of the choices I was considering - theyre all great machines. I felt pretty lucky to be able to stand there and make that choice.
    At the end of the day I had to go with my gut/heart feeling and that kept on leaning towards the GPP. I cant wait to get it.
    As for the grinder, well.. I just couldnt resist the Macap M4D ;) oops, spent a bit more than I meant too but... these things happen right??
    Now its time for the accessories ::)
    And the journey begins

  13. #13
    Senior Member Koffee_Kosmo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    Brisbane
    Posts
    5,113

    Re: Thoughts, opinions, ideas sought

    Congrats on the new machine and wishing you many years of good coffee
    Remember to clean regularly

    And I often say we wait for you with anticipation on when you will start home roasting
    Its a natural coffee snob progression

    KK

  14. #14
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Posts
    12

    Re: Thoughts, opinions, ideas sought

    Thx KK and youre right - I was talking about home roasting to Chris today and I said I could see myself developing an interest in that area (as my partner rolled his eyes and said where would that fit?) ha ha. First things first, best learn the art of a good espresso i think.
    CP

  15. #15
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    Sydney
    Posts
    723

    Re: Thoughts, opinions, ideas sought

    Quote Originally Posted by 4E44514646495D5B280 link=1249695636/1#1 date=1249696267
    Those machines seem to be at the top of most CSers HX short-list
    Just wanted to remind you that you dont actually speak for "most CSers" - these would be toward the bottom of others who like the Minore (temp control) the Isomacs (price, style, flick-taps), Bezzera (rock solid build quality & VFM).

    Maybe Im KenFoxing a dead horse here - but unless youve used more than one HX machine for a decent amount of time, its pretty suss to say its better than the ones youre comparing it to.

  16. #16
    Senior Member flynnaus's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    Sydney
    Posts
    4,078

    Re: Thoughts, opinions, ideas sought

    Quote Originally Posted by 6845444F55485558210 link=1249695636/14#14 date=1250055279
    Just wanted to remind you that you dont actually speak for "most CSers" *- these would be toward the bottom of others who like the Minore (temp control) the Isomacs (price, style, flick-taps), Bezzera (rock solid build quality & VFM).

    Maybe Im KenFoxing a dead horse here - but unless youve used more than one HX machine for a decent amount of time, its pretty suss to say its better than the ones youre comparing it to.
    Not speaking for anyone. Just making an general observation, not a recommendation. It does appear to be me validating CPs choice so perhaps I should have qualified the statement as "many CSers whom have recently posted that they currently considering buying a HX"

    I dont know about flogging deadhorses but drawing a long bow comes to mind. I cant see anywhere in my post where I said or implied that Expobars or Isomacs or others are inferior. But even if such an inference could be made, it is no less valid than the assumption that the three short-listed by CP would appear at the bottom of others shortlists.

    BTW Bezzera was definitely on my short list.

  17. #17
    Caffeine Junky
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Posts
    1,103

    Re: Thoughts, opinions, ideas sought

    Great to see such passion about coffee, lets just keep it friendly ::)

  18. #18
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Posts
    12

    Re: Thoughts, opinions, ideas sought

    I am extremely happy with my choice.

    I did the research, read the reviews and then physically went in and compared and did the whole um and ah thing. At the end of the day I went with my gut feeling.

    I will say that I have found this site invaluable for information in assisting me and I asked for peoples own personal thoughts and opinions. At no point did I feel recommended or guided to go down the path I chose by what people wrote here.

    Im sure every CSer is happy with their choice and thats the fun of this forum - ie; being able to write about that.

    CP ;D

  19. #19
    Senior Member flynnaus's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    Sydney
    Posts
    4,078

    Re: Thoughts, opinions, ideas sought

    Hi CP

    Congratulations. Good on you for aiming high and I know you wont regret it. Another satisfied TalkCoffee customer!

    Another consideration. Donyou have home barista skills and, if not, have you considered doing a course?

  20. #20
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Posts
    12

    Re: Thoughts, opinions, ideas sought

    Hey Flynn
    No home barista skills :( However, am keen to do a course of some kind, will prob aim to try and do a one day(er) when I can next get up to Melb...
    It would seem a shame, since I have laid out all the $$, not to actually learn some of the skills.
    Chris did give me a dvd - so will start there and see how much I can pick up.
    Its all enjoyment :)


  21. #21
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    Sydney
    Posts
    723

    Re: Thoughts, opinions, ideas sought

    hehe, maybe im being a bit grumpy ;)

    Quote Originally Posted by 437072792621110 link=1249695636/17#17 date=1250072367
    Im sure every CSer is happy with their choice and thats *the fun of this forum - ie; being able to write about that.
    Flynn, I do enjoy your opinions and find them valuable - the issue I have is that people may be lead astray by comments like the one you didnt qualify. The GPP is a much better machine than the GP ever was , and it would be on my shortlist if I was to buy another machine. Id say a BZ07 and a K10 WBC would be a better use of most peoples budgets than the HX+low end grinder, but I have 2xHX & 2xlow end grinders - and maybe Im a crazy addict. Rest assured this wasnt intended as an attack!

    Hi CP and welcome - I hope the DVD helps - and remember, the Sydney meetups are only a flight away 8-) (you too flynn!)

  22. #22
    Mal Dimal's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    Warwick, QLD
    Posts
    16,764

    Re: Thoughts, opinions, ideas sought

    Excellent news CP.... 8-)

    May you realise the wonder of many God Shots not long into the future.... Great combo and congratulations [smiley=thumbsup.gif]

    Mal.

  23. #23
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Posts
    12

    Re: Thoughts, opinions, ideas sought

    My Rocket arrived this week and thought Id share a picture of my set up - Many thanks to Chris from Talk Coffee.
    Please dont ask me how many shots have been tipped down the sink!!! (too many)...
    The fun and frustration has certainly begun...
    CP


  24. #24
    Senior Member redzone121's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    New Zealand
    Posts
    1,162

    Re: Thoughts, opinions, ideas sought

    Nice set up CP 8-)

    Quote Originally Posted by 5063616A3532020 link=1249695636/22#22 date=1251592284
    The fun and frustration has certainly begun...
    Pleased you see it that way already ;D

    Enjoy !

    Chris

  25. #25
    Senior Member Coffee2Di4's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    Ipswich, QLD
    Posts
    1,472

    Re: Thoughts, opinions, ideas sought

    Beautiful, CP - welcome to the female person in the relationship obsessed with coffee so doesnt have to check with the Minister of Finance, because we are the MOF and all the partnered males on the forum are jealous club!

    ;D

    Brilliant acquisitions both!

    Cheers
    Di

  26. #26
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Posts
    7

    Advice on a new machine please

    Hi Everyone,
    I am seeking some advice/recommendations from CSers on upgrading to a new real machine.
    After using my brothers old Sunbeam machine and not being able to fully enjoy my freshly roasted coffee i am looking at purchasing a HX machine that will last me a long time.

    After hours of research and different shop advice I have narrowed it down to 2- Isomac Tea or Giotto PP ( or any other recommendations)
    Is the $600-$700 difference justified?
    Also i have a newish Sunbeam em0480 grinder, will it cut it with the new machine??

    My situation is: Regularly making 6-8 lattes for guests and 2-3 lattes a day for myself/family.

    Any advice/input/recommendations appreciated.
    Thanks...

  27. #27
    TC
    TC is offline
    .
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    Melbourne
    Posts
    14,665

    Re: Thoughts, opinions, ideas sought

    Quote Originally Posted by 26233D287173470 link=1249695636/25#25 date=1252316185
    Hi Everyone,
    I am seeking some advice/recommendations from CSers on upgrading to a new real machine.
    After using my brothers old Sunbeam machine and not being able to fully enjoy my freshly roasted coffee i am looking at purchasing a HX machine that will last me a long time.

    After hours of research and different shop advice I have narrowed it down to 2- Isomac Tea or Giotto PP ( or any other recommendations)
    Is the $600-$700 difference justified?
    Also i have a newish Sunbeam em0480 grinder, will it cut it with the new machine??

    My situation is: Regularly making 6-8 lattes for guests and 2-3 lattes a day for myself/family.

    Any advice/input/recommendations appreciated.
    Thanks...
    Hi Adzo and welcome...

    A read though this area of the forum will reveal multiple threads very similar and some in fact identical to yours...

    I have spliced your post into a recent thread which is pretty much the same...Hope this will give you the general idea..

    That said, you are comparing at either end of the majority of the HX spectrum. The Tea is no competitor to the Giotto. Youd make a much better comparison with a Diadema Regal 1.3L or Expobar Office SA or eb-61 at similar price points to the Tea.

    Happy shopping...

    2mcm

  28. #28
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Posts
    7

    Re: Thoughts, opinions, ideas sought

    Thanks 2mcm, there sure are many people in my situation isnt there!

    Can you explain why the tea and Giotto are no comparison to each other?



Similar Threads

  1. lever machine sought
    By Springbok in forum Brewing Equipment - Midrange ($500-$1500)
    Replies: 11
    Last Post: 19th January 2012, 03:21 PM
  2. Help sought for BFC semi-Auto
    By hotshod in forum Brewing Equipment - Pointy End ($1500-$3000)
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 1st July 2011, 09:56 AM
  3. Opinions sought ...
    By Cinta_Kopi in forum Grinders
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 11th May 2011, 10:33 AM
  4. Modem setting help sought
    By Framey in forum General Coffee Related...
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 15th October 2005, 07:42 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •