Thread: The Benefits of a Cooling Flush - Diadema Junior Plus

The Benefits of a Cooling Flush - Diadema Junior Plus

Gene Cafe Coffee Roaster $850 - Free Beans Free Freight
    It’s an epiphany… what a difference a cooling flush makes! I’m hitting the “god shot” almost on a regular basis and it’s more by accident than design.

I’m a newbie HX machine owner (Diadem Junior Plus) and had read article like this http://www.home-barista.com/hx-love.html but it didn’t really sink in until the last few weeks… when it was all about grind, dose, tamp. Not Flush?

I’m wondering if it’s peculiar to my machine (which constantly sits on close to 1.2 bar). Does the boiler pressurestat need to wound down a notch?

Any way, I find that while I’m dosing I’ll start the flush which usually goes for about 20 to 25 seconds, stop the machine, polish off the tamp, then load, and then start the extraction.

Does anyone else have a similar ritual – or something completely different? I would be really interested in hearing about it.

Merr1

Re: The Benefits of a Cooling Flush - Diadema Junior Plus

This is very normal. Every(?) HX requires a cooling flush - especially after the machine has been on for a while.

Quote Originally Posted by 64617269757368000 link=1255257134/1#1 date=1255261617
    Every(?) HX requires a cooling flush
    Mine doesnt any more since it had its last service by Di Bartoli.

I think it depends on settings. A big commercial will require it if left sitting for more than it would in a busy coffees shop at peak time even with the pressurestat down a little. I have pre-programmed 2 of the 4 buttons on each groups pad for different cooling shots. However back to back shots do not require a flush with my set up.

Cheers

PS. By having the same flush volume each time when the machine has been idle for a while you easily achieve very good consistency

My Junior EXTRA was requiring quite a long cooling flush with the pressure running at 1.3-1.4 bar.