Thread: Advice for novice on Expobar Minore IV

Advice for novice on Expobar Minore IV

Gene Cafe Coffee Roaster $850 - Free Beans Free Freight
    Hi all,

Firstly, its terrifying posting a topic on here amongst the coffee immortals...

Ive been making coffee at home for a few years now on a pretty basic machine and grinder setup. Im ready to upgrade.

I was thinking about the Expobar Minore IV. What are peoples opinions on this machine? I dont mind what I pay for a machine, I just want something that is reliable, high quality and makes great coffee. Im also very much a novice so Im a little worried this machine may have a few too many bells and whistles for me to handle.

Would really appreciate any thoughts anyone may have. Are there other machines you would recommend?

Many thanks

TC

Re: Advice for novice on Expobar Minore IV

Welcome Old_School* [smiley=thumbsup.gif]

Dont be scared. We all started with little knowledge. There are plenty of great resources and trainers out there if required to get you going at a high standard.

Any good dual boiler or heat exchanger (HX) machine will very likely exceed your requirements in a domestic situation.

My company Talk Coffee has sold a fair few Minore II, III and IV to a host of CSers with very few issues whatsoever. The dual boiler machines offer a little more tweakability which you may try playing with in the future if youre more into black coffee variants.

Expobar machines are sometimes a "little rougher" around the edges than some of the Italian made machines, but it is ultimately about whats in the cup and they do deliver.

I normally ask clients to pick 3 machines they like the look of and then I tell them what I dont like about them. No company has made the perfect machine and its all about locating your best match for your requirements at a price that sits comfortably.

We dabble in Diadema, Expobar, Rocket, VBM, Izzo and others. If the machine is nasty and makes for a difficult experience, we wont sell it.