Thread: New to Silvia, need advice

New to Silvia, need advice

Gene Cafe Coffee Roaster $850 - Free Beans Free Freight
    Hi Guys, I am pretty new to the Silvia and just looking for advice on workflow, and making sure I am keeping the machine safe.

My first attempt came out with beautiful coffee by chance, but it raised a couple of questions.

1. How long should my shot pour take? 20+ seconds?

2. The main issue was using a temperature gauge for frothing, but I seemed to run out of pressure before reaching optimal temp (70ish) on half a jug of milk.. I kept pushing it and just reached temp, but wondered if that was bad for the machine running it dry? Should it even be getting that close to running out of pressure, and how much should I be able to do?

3. When I have finished, should I de-pressurize the machine when its turned off? or leave is sitting like that to cool down by itself?

Any other tips, advice or things I should know about this machine are also appreciated.

Thanks for your time

Re: New to Silvia, need advice

The lights are also confusing me. When should the switch lights come on? e.g. steam switch light? Do the the lights on the other 3 side switches even light up?

I have to think about getting a grinder for it as well now, is the Breville smart grinder an ok match?

Until some else replies
    1. I think you have posted in the wrong section.
    2. After steaming always refill the boiler by switching on the brew switch. With the brew switch on first steam will come out of the group then water, to be safe if you open the hot water tap when brew water comes out your boiler is full of water and the heating coils are safe.

If i remember the only caution with Silvia is to make sure the boiler is full so the coils are either heating water for brew temperature or heating for steam temperature.