Thread: Diadema Junior Plus Semi-Automatica help with bitterness

Diadema Junior Plus Semi-Automatica help with bitterness

Gene Cafe Coffee Roaster $850 - Free Beans Free Freight
    I thought I would just quickly revive this thread to let everyone know that a few weeks back I purchased a brand new Diadema Junior Plus Semi-Automatica http://i1129.photobucket.com/albums/...e/Newsetup.jpgfrom Cosmorex here in Canberra as they had an interest free deal happening so it was a perfect time for me to take the step into making some really nice coffee at home.

Now I am a complete novice and booked myself in for a Barista course with Cosmorex last Tuesday and wow wasn’t I doing everything wrong... Plus this resulted in me buying a K3 grinder as well last week. Lots of money spent but only a drop in the ocean in comparison to my other hobby/money pit...

After some useful tips here and finally putting in the time to get a nice brew, the coffee is now starting to taste a touch on the bitter side and its 3 weeks this coming Saturday since I bought it. To reduce the bitterness just a touch would you suggest I make the grind a little coarser or do I need to run a cleaning solution through it already?

Machine switched and not used for at least 20 minutes
    Double basket is used most times
    7 seconds of pre-extraction
    25 seconds for entire pour including the 7 from above
    Coffee used is out of a 1kg bag of Cosmorex Premium Special Blend

Any suggestions would be great.

Cheers

RP

PS: I would really like to thank Harry and Jason at Cosmorex for treating me as such a valued customer. I really couldn’t tell you the last time I have encountered such excellent customer service.

Senior Member Barry O'Speedwagon's Avatar

Re: Diadema Junior Plus Semi-Automatica help with bitterness

RP,