Like Tree1Likes
  • 1 Post By jazzy_boy

Thread: Is it worth buying a premium machine?

drx

Is it worth buying a premium machine?

Gene Cafe Coffee Roaster $850 - Free Beans Free Freight
    Hello all,
    After 15 years of loyal service and repairs I have decided to put my Baby Gaggia to rest.
    The dilemma I now face is do I buy the Breville BES900 that has had so many great reviews, or do I pay the premium to upgrade to an imported machine?
    How much better will the coffee be?
    Is it important to have a twin boiler or not.
    Can anyone offer any guidance , my budget would max out at low to mid $2k

Thanks

drx
    Melbourne

Re: Is it worth buying a premium machine?

Hi drx,

Im no expert, but Ive been through a similar decision process myself. Here are my thoughts:

- At low to mid $2K, you have a whole heap of options open to you - email and Im sure youll get a full run down of all the heat exchanger (Hx) and even double boiler machines that your budget will get you
    - Ive just purchased a Hx (Diadema Junior Semi-auto) for a few $100 more than the Breville
    - I chose to pay the premium because I have more confidence on the longevity of these imported machines
    - I also prefer not having as many electronics in the machine (though the semi-auto Ive got does have a bit)
    - I much prefer the look
    - I do not think the coffee will be any/significantly better in the cup all other things being equal
    - Double boiler and Hx both can brew and steam at the same time. Theres some added benefits to double boiler with easily adjustable temperature control , but Im not up on that, so hopefully someone else can elaborate on that. For me, double boilers and Hx effectively function the same for my purposes (and a definite step up from single boilers)

Theres been some healthy debate about this (Breville vs others) in previous threads. You might find this one helpful: http://coffeesnobs.com.au/YaBB.pl?num=1318246621

Hope this helps a little.