Like Tree1Likes
  • 1 Post By stephen28

Thread: Breville Oracle OR Breville BES920 plus Compak K3 Platinum grinder? Advice please....

Breville Oracle OR Breville BES920 plus Compak K3 Platinum grinder? Advice please....

Gene Cafe Coffee Roaster $850 - Free Beans Free Freight
    Hi all, this is my first time posting, however I have been reading a lot in recent weeks especially about the Breville Oracle and BES920 machines. I have been using a Rancilio with a Compak K3 Platinum grinder for the past 5 years. My hubby and I are done with the Rancilio (especially given the base has virtually rusted out) so have decided to upgrade. I purchased (but am yet to receive) a BES920 on gumtree, it's brand new still in box (was an unwanted prize), it set me back $800-, so was planning to use it with my Compak grinder. Now I have the opportunity to buy a 3mth old Oracle with a 5yr warranty for $1,250- which seems like an opportunity too good to pass up as I'm sure I'll be able to sell the BES920 for that same price I paid for it and should get $150- for my grinder (approx), so Oracle will cost me an extra $300-. I expect both machines will be much better than the Rancilio which has been delivering decent coffee for the past 5yrs, but I'm no expert (especially as I don't drink coffee out, I have Rice milk and no cafe's use RM). I like the ease offered by the Oracle, but have also read some issues people are having, especially in relation to grind. I live in south west WA and am fortunate enough to have a couple of great local roasting companies in town so have easy access to fresh beans. My hubby is better at making coffees than I am and to be honest I'm not all that interested in learning more, with a 1 and a 6 year old I just want a yummy coffee at 6am and am sick of how long it takes to make 2 coffees on the Rancillio (which is made even harder with a 14mth old constantly pulling my pants down!). Can anyone help with my decision? Thanks.