Like Tree5Likes
  • 1 Post By Jon81
  • 2 Post By coffee_machinist
  • 1 Post By coffee_machinist
  • 1 Post By Jon81

Thread: Buying first prosumer machine - ECM Rocket Giotto Premium

Buying first prosumer machine - ECM Rocket Giotto Premium

Gene Cafe Coffee Roaster $850 - Free Beans Free Freight
    Hi all, I'm new here and hoping to get some advice on purchasing my first prosumer machine. I've been using a Sunbeam Cafe series for the last 2 years and recently purchased a second hand Mazzer mini grinder (which has already made a big difference). Now I want to upgrade and get a prosumer model and have been looking around at different options. There is an ECM Giotto Premium machine being advertised second hand that I'm interested in. I'm just wondering what sort of things I should be looking for and checking out in this machine? Apparently it was purchased in 2010, was serviced and had a new group head seal put in 2013, but the owner says it has only pulled about 20 shots from it since then and it has been sitting around in his kitchen as "eye candy" for the last 3 years. The asking price is $1280. I've got a budget of up to $1500.00 for a machine (so can factor in some service or replacement of parts if needed - i.e. I wondered if perhaps the time of non-use might affect the seals and cause them to shrink or dry out too much?). Any help and thoughts (or other suggestions of machines if I'm barking up the wrong tree!) are much appreciated.

Hi and welcome

Is it Rocket or ECM? These are different companies. Rocket took over making the Giotto around 2009. Giotto of either badge are good machines that can make far superior coffee than your Sunbeam can

Group seals are quite cheap and easy to change so that is not a concern. Generally, they are changed annually.

Be very careful when buying second hand machines.