Thread: Bezerra Galatea Domus Question

mg

Bezerra Galatea Domus Question

Gene Cafe Coffee Roaster $850 - Free Beans Free Freight
    I recently bought the new Galatea Domus and ECM Best grinder, I am now trying to get conistent espresso shots from both single and double PFs. Things are geneally OK - still a little variable as I think I am struggling on dosing.

However, a nagging issue is that generally after each pour I get a good firm puck but (and most commonly on the single PF) when I remove the PF from the group head there is a small amount of water on top of the puck that immediately dissapates on removal - this is also often accompanied by a small release of water from the long pipe that sits above the drip tray (sorry dont know what the technical term is as I am new to this).

Pour time is generally 25-28 secs for a single shot of ~30ml. I have tried updosing a little by tapping the PF 3-4 times, re-dosing and then brushing excess off with a knife or finger. When I do this (particularly with the single PF) the PF is hard to attach and all I get after about 25 sec is maybe 5-10ml of black syrup.

So I suppose my first question - is it normal to have the small amount of water on the top of the otherwise firm puck (I can see the ss imprints in the puck) that dissipates quickly or do I have a bigger problem

My second question is does anyone have a good dosing technique for Bezzera as from what I understand they have a lower SS than most others in their class

Thanks,

MG

Re: Bezerra Galatea Domus Question

Hi MG
    on my Bezzera I fill to a mound, lightly tap 3 or 4 times on the bench, level off and tamp lightly. While I do aim for about 25 sec, Id be watching mostly for signs of blonding to pull the shot at that point if it happens before the 25 sec.