Like Tree2Likes
  • 1 Post By JMcCee
  • 1 Post By artman

Thread: Buying first machine and rather overwhelmed >_<

Question Buying first machine and rather overwhelmed >_<

Gene Cafe Coffee Roaster $850 - Free Beans Free Freight
    Hey all

I've been poking around for a couple of months now trying to figure out which machine to get and have read a lot of great advice..some of it contradictory which is the way of things :) nearing making a decision now but just wanted to do one last check :)

Basically I'm wanting to spend around 2K but could push a bit higher if it made a big enough difference. My usage is low quantity, mostly for 1-2 people very rarely more but daily use. It would primarily be making latte's so it seemed my best option was for a HX?

I'm not overly fussed by aesthetics (function over form). I do have a grinder which while not brilliant hopefully should be suitable for the short term and down the track I can invest in a nicer one. Basically (potential) coffee quality and machine reliability are the primary considerations :). I guess one secondary concern (although not mandatory) is warm up time, I know it's going to take a while no matter what I get but I'd prefer to keep it on the lower end of the spectrum if at all possible. Timers wouldn't be the most functional solution for me unfortunately due to waking at irregular times. Still worst comes to worst it'd be an incentive to try and sort that ;)

I've been offered a Expobar Leva for 2K that I've been strongly considering, it seemed to be suited to my needs from what I've read and the price is a bit cheaper than I've seen around+is local which is uncommon enough. However I've seen threads with people recommending Bezzera BZ10's, VBM Junior's and Diadema juniors (although those are a little pricier) over Leva's. Not sure if that's a consensus opinion around or just everyone has their preferences kind of thing? (obviously confused :P).