Like Tree1Likes
  • 1 Post By rednarb

Thread: BZ35 - Not refilling the boiler

BZ35 - Not refilling the boiler

Gene Cafe Coffee Roaster $850 - Free Beans Free Freight
    Hi all,

I'm fairly new to the CS community and decided to try my hand at a heat exchanger machine after using a PID'd Silvia for many years.

I recently purchased a second hand BZ35 which was in bad need of a descale and clean out. I spent some time disassembling the unit down and cleaning out all the components - very satisfying process :-)
    A new set of seals all round and reassembled back together now, it's time for the last few items to troubleshoot.

I've been trying to find the cause of a problem, where it doesn't seem to want to refill the boiler.

Starting with a full tank (manually filling up through the Antivac valve), I turn on the machine and the heater turns on and comes up to pressure/temp. It seems to behave normally at this point. I can pull shots without any faults, and the pump and heater seem to work as expected.

However, if I use the hot water tap (pulling water from the boiler compared to the heat exchanger) once I reach the lower water level limit, the 5 front lights (I have the volumetric model with rotary pump) start to flash and the heater turns off.

I would have expected at this point the pump to kick in and start refilling the boiler?

Occasionally, when I turn it on from cold, the pump starts and fills the boiler, but I had an earlier issue where it just kept pumping and flowing then out of the Antivac valve (which I then cleaned out and it seemed to fix the sticky value). But now it just doesn't seem to want to even try refilling the boiler anymore. I can assume that the level problem is working as that's what seems to trigger the controller to flash the 5 button lights when it gets too low. The motor and pump function fine for the group head output.