Like Tree1Likes
  • 1 Post By AlecinOz

Thread: Vibiemme Junior - intermittent pump/sensor issue

Vibiemme Junior - intermittent pump/sensor issue

Gene Cafe Coffee Roaster $850 - Free Beans Free Freight
    Hi all.

Apologies if the terms I use are not correct as I'm not very technical when it comes to coffee machines.
    When I turn my VBM Jr HX (5 years old) on, I usually hear a click which I assume is some sort of sensor to detect how much water is in the boiler? Very shortly after I hear the loud sound of water being pumped into the boiler (again I'm assuming) to fill it. If it is full from the last use, for eg I extracted some water out of the hot water wand which then causes it to refill fully, then I know the next time I turn it on, the boiler is full so it won't have to go through that process. But that is a rare occurrence so 99% of the time, when I turn the machine on, it does pump some water into the boiler.
    Every now and again, I would turn my machine on and I would hear the click but not the sound of the pump filling the boiler. I wait a few minutes but it still doesn't pump. I know in this case if I try to make a coffee and steam some milk, I will usually run out of water halfway through so I try to dispense some water out of the hot water wand to empty the boiler and trigger it to re-fill the boiler, but it doesn't happen. After a few minutes, it beeps which I see as a warning so I turn the machine off.
    In most cases, I come back a few hours later, turn the machine on and it starts working again. ie I hear the loud sound of the pump filling the boiler and it works fine. But lately this issue has been sticking around for 48hrs or so, before it starts working again. Even when it does start working again, there is a long delay from the usual clicking sound, to the sound of the pump. It is usually fairly instant (perhaps one second delay) but now it's about 7-10 seconds between the click and the sound of the pump.