Thread: Help Me Choose: Makin, Domus Galatea, Minore II

Help Me Choose: Makin, Domus Galatea, Minore II

Gene Cafe Coffee Roaster $850 - Free Beans Free Freight
    Hi everyone,

Im a complete newbie here, but you guys sure seem to know your stuff. Im hoping you can help me choose a new machine.

Ive got a plain old Breville 800es machine now. It makes an ok flat white, but its so sloooooow. I want to upgrade. Im new to using a top-line espresso machine but Im sure Ill get the hang of it.

With help from Chris at Talk Coffee, Ive narrowed down my search to three.

David Makin Signature
    Bezerra Domus Galatea
    Expobar Minore II

My constraints are bench space and its mostly the width thats the problem. Also, I need a machine thats relatively easy to learn for a newbie. I think Im going to have trouble learning to froth milk in less than (my current) 2 minutes. Also, Im after a quality build. I dont buy stuff that aint made well.

Any ideas guys?

Paul

Re: Help Me Choose: Makin, Domus Galatea, Minore I

Did you figure in Diadema as well?

Very well built machines. Chris sells them too.

TC

Hi Paul,

I agree that you could look at Diadema as well. They are not too wide and perform beautifully.

The Bezzera does have quite a wide footprint so might not work for you.

Have you considered the VBM Domobar super lever? Its relatively narrow, but fairly deep. Its also a great machine.

Good luck in your search...

Chris

Quote Originally Posted by Talk_Coffee link=1195081994/0#2 date=1195082463
    Hi Paul,

I agree that you could look at Diadema as well. They are not too wide and perform beautifully.

The Bezzera does have quite a wide footprint so might not work for you.

Have you considered the VBM Domobar super lever? Its relatively narrow, but fairly deep. Its also a great machine.

Good luck in your search...

Chris
    Thanks Chris,