Results 1 to 18 of 18

Thread: Any opinions?

  1. #1
    Senior Member Shotgun's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Posts
    150

    Any opinions?

    Gene Cafe Coffee Roaster $850 - Free Beans Free Freight
    Hello
    Im pretty well new to all this CS stuff, and Im about 6 weeks in to my learning curve with nice equipment.

    Im just starting to manage reasonable shots most of the time and after reading the thread Sugar In Coffee Im trying to wean myself of an overdosed sugary brew. I now realise how much influence sugar has on the finished flavor because Im down to half a tea-spoonful of raw sugar now and Im finding (unless its just me) that the resultant coffee is pretty tasteless.

    Heres my dilemma... WE have a lot of family (all coffee lovers) arriving for Xmas in a couple of weeks and they are only too aware that Ive spent around $4K on equipment. Theyll be expecting to have their socks knocked off by my expertise (I had a laugh *;D).

    My son-in-law is a very good chef in Sydney with a refined palate. He tends to drink Illy coffee exclusively at home as does our daughter. I dont want to be serving rubbish coffee over Xmas and I dont have a lot of time to experiment with different blends etc.

    Is there a good blend I can buy from Coffee Snobs (or elsewhere) that will work well as espresso, long black and milk based? I was going to buy WOW and give it a go but I will need something to work well for 4 weeks or more during that time.

    I think I have developed enough expertise to manage more decent shots that not but I really need a good blend to work with. I know there are a multitude of variables to consider but I really have to cut through the crap and get a decent blend.

    Suggestions anyone?

    Cheers
    T

  2. #2
    Senior Member Koffee_Kosmo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    Brisbane
    Posts
    5,113

    Re: Any opinions?

    From Brown Bay get a couple of sampler packs and ask Andy to give you a good mixture (note 4 packs in one order)
    http://beanbay.coffeesnobs.com.au/ViewProduct.aspx/118-roasted-sample-pack

    You can have them as a single origin or blend to you hearts content



    KK

  3. #3
    CoffeeSnobs Owner Andy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Internet
    Posts
    17,026
    Blog Entries
    1

    Re: Any opinions?


    Thanks for the plug Koffee Kosmo
    8-)

    Quote Originally Posted by 063D3A2132203B550 link=1260167958/0#0 date=1260167958
    My son-in-law is a very good chef in Sydney with a refined palate. He tends to drink Illy coffee exclusively at home as does our daughter
    It might be a tad rude, but I would suggest that your son in law needs some work on his coffee palate if the best he can find is imported can coffee. There are so many good, fresh, local coffees around and exploring them and the palate journey is half the fun.


  4. #4
    A_M
    A_M is offline
    Guest
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Posts
    6,381

    Re: Any opinions?

    1: Where are you

    2: Plenty of sponsors available to visit.

    3: I tend to watch and pull short... rather than a strict 30sec rule

    4: There are a few that will work as black and with milk..

    I tend to go with teh PNG AA as it has a good balance and not so acidic, thus the nubs that drop around think my coffee is great..

    Its not bad at times.. But to be honest.. It just that it is better than teh crap they get at many shops..

    I tend to only offer palm sugar or raw and most are happy to sats first.. Those that persist... Well that is their choice.. But again mos usually end up putting in about half... Often by the second cup... None.

    Some still only want instant... but that is BYO...

  5. #5
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    Werribee, Victoria, Australia
    Posts
    737

    Re: Any opinions?

    Like AM, I love PNG Wahgi AA. Andy has some in brown bay.
    I find that people who dont drink fresh coffee love this, and they wont be putting as much sugar in thier drinks.
    Also the Sumatran usaully give a fantastic espresso pour. I just love watching it ooze out of the spout almost like pouring honey, another very nice drop

  6. #6
    Senior Member Shotgun's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Posts
    150

    Re: Any opinions?

    Hello all and thanks.

    In hindsight I feel a tad foolish for asking the question in the first place. Coffee taste is extremely subjective but I was responding to the fact that yesterday morning, with very little sugar, I realised my current blend was falling short and with Xmas around the corner I started to sweat a bit.

    Im in Noosa Heads in Queensland and I guess the closest sponsor is Pioneer coffee about 25 mins drive south.

    I agree Andy, but for the uninitiated Illy is regarded as the pinnacle of coffee and I used to drink nothing else about 12 years ago.

    Today however, now that Ive bought good equipment, have found CS site and discovered all you nut cases or should I say Bean Cases, I had no idea either. I was drinking a blend from Melbourne that I believed to be untouchable. Hmmm! :P

    There seems to be a view that the PNG Waghi AA would be a good choice, would you agree Andy?
    Cheers
    Tony

  7. #7
    A_M
    A_M is offline
    Guest
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Posts
    6,381

    Re: Any opinions?

    Quote Originally Posted by 063D3A2132203B550 link=1260167958/5#5 date=1260231446
    Hello all and thanks.

    In hindsight I feel a tad foolish for asking the question in the first place. Coffee taste is extremely subjective but I was responding to the fact that yesterday morning, with very little sugar, I realised my current blend was falling short and with Xmas around the corner I started to sweat a bit.

    Im in Noosa Heads in Queensland and I guess the closest sponsor is Pioneer coffee about 25 mins drive south.

    I agree Andy, but for the uninitiated Illy is regarded as the pinnacle of coffee and I used to drink nothing else about 12 years ago.

    Today however, now that Ive bought good equipment, have found CS site and discovered all you nut cases or should I say Bean Cases, I had no idea either. I was drinking a blend from Melbourne that I believed to be untouchable. Hmmm! *:P

    There seems to be a view that the PNG Waghi AA would be a good choice, would you agree Andy?
    Cheers
    Tony
    Dont feel foolish... We have all been there and will all return at some stage ;D



  8. #8
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Posts
    541

    Re: Any opinions?

    Hi Shotgun,

    I dont disagree with the great taste of PNG AA, but it is a single origin [SO] bean and not a blend. It makes a great coffee but...

    With a blend you purposely create a choice balance of acidity, front palate, body etc etc. Therefore, when done well, in a blend there are less compromises than a SO.

    I would suggest in your "impending" situation that a blend will be a better choice: A safer bet for milk and espresso drinks, probably more likely to be appreciated by those who have not experienced SOs, and most likely more forgiving to barista technique.

    There are plenty of great choices via our site sponsors, but my second crack

    Coffee snobs "Espresso Wow" is my favorite all time blend,
    It has [to my palate some unique dried fruity flavours & spices [Think christmas pudding], is a bit chocolately, sweetish, has great body and mouthfeel and works over a wide range of temps and grinds.
    Its great in milk and excellent as espresso [lots of exotic flavours to savour and think about]

  9. #9
    Senior Member Shotgun's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Posts
    150

    Re: Any opinions?

    I ha
    Quote Originally Posted by 2730203726213027550 link=1260167958/7#7 date=1260235626
    I dont disagree with the great taste of PNG AA, but it is a single origin [SO] bean and not a blend. It makes a great coffee but...

    With a blend you purposely *create a choice balance of *acidity, front palate, body etc etc. Therefore, when done well, in a blend there are less compromises than a SO.

    I would suggest *in your "impending" situation that a blend will be a better choice: A safer bet for milk and espresso drinks, probably more likely to be appreciated by those who have not experienced SOs, and *most likely more forgiving to *barista technique.

    There are plenty of great choices via our site sponsors, but *my second crack

    Coffee snobs "Espresso Wow" is my favorite all time blend,
    It has [to my palate some unique dried fruity flavours & spices [Think christmas pudding], is a bit chocolately, sweetish, has great body and mouthfeel and works over a wide range of temps and grinds.
    Its great in milk and excellent as espresso [lots of exotic flavours to savour and think about]
    I have to say that, while Im no expert, Id gathered SO coffees are more difficult than blends and thats why I threw the question back to Andy.

    My original choice was WOW but I read a recent post on the WOW thread that said after 3 weeks it was pretty ordinary and Ill need this to go at least 3 weeks.

    I still think Ill take your advice though and give WOW a go. Ill wait until just before Xmas to order and hopefully get it fresh.
    Thanks again
    Tony


  10. #10
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Posts
    541

    Re: Any opinions?

    After 3 weeks pretty much any coffee will have turned the corner toward ordinary-ness.
    But at 3 weeks it will still be way better than any stale coffee you can get from the supermarket or big name roaster.
    If you must go three weeks, buy it in seperate 1KG bags and keep the second bag sealed up until you need it.

  11. #11
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Posts
    759

    Re: Any opinions?

    Actually youre best off buying in 250 gram bags and freezing some.

    Read up on freezing coffee as there are some gotchas and methods to doing it right.

  12. #12
    Sleep is overrated Thundergod's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    Sydney
    Posts
    10,496

    Re: Any opinions?

    A good SO can please both drinkers of espresso and those that take milk, as can a good blend.

    Ive been drinking a Tanzanian SO this week in milk that tastes good to me and yesterday I made some espressos for a couple of my work colleagues who hadnt yet tried coffee Id made.

    Here at work I only have a Sunbeam 6910 to work with and my little Gaggia MDF grinder.

    The coffee blew them both away.

    If your S-I-L is used to Illy you should be safe with whatever you choose.

  13. #13
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Posts
    323

    Re: Any opinions?

    Quote Originally Posted by 0D312C373D3C2B3E363D590 link=1260167958/12#12 date=1260246382
    If your S-I-L is used to Illy you should be safe with whatever you choose.
    Here here!

    Being family, your SIL is obliged to be more forgiving than most. But on the off chance he does start making "$4k" comments & criticisms, perhaps youd like to remind him that the best chef knives in the world wont make a punter into a chef. Training, passion and practice practice practice do that. Just like a barista - home or otherwise.

    So welcome to CS and have some faith in yourself! No matter how good you are today, youll only get better tomorrow :)

  14. #14
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Posts
    1,520

    Re: Any opinions?

    Quote Originally Posted by 4B70776C7F6D76180 link=1260167958/0#0 date=1260167958
    My son-in-law is a very good chef in Sydney with a refined palate. He tends to drink Illy coffee exclusively at home as does our daughter. I dont want to be serving rubbish coffee over Xmas and I dont have a lot of time to experiment with different blends etc.

    Grab some instant from somewhere and when making them a coffee (and they are not watching) slip them a "micky".That is whip up a "instant cuppachino" and watch the look in there faces......

    that would be gold on xmas day, i just might do it myself..... I had a laugh :D


  15. #15
    Senior Member Shotgun's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Posts
    150

    Re: Any opinions?

    Hmmmm! Yep, Ill do it.

  16. #16
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Posts
    268

    Re: Any opinions?

    In Italy and France i came across heaps of Illy cafes (actually branded Illy) but all they served was pre ground coffee. Mind you thats standard over there.

    My idea of "fresh" isnt a freshly opened tin. :)

  17. #17
    Banned
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Posts
    623

    Re: Any opinions?

    Go to Pioneer and buy MochJava and Heritage Blend. Both great! and open most of the Chrissie holidays

  18. #18
    Senior Member Luke_G's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    Northen Rivers
    Posts
    659

    Re: Any opinions?

    I think i would personally go with KKs idea of purchasing a sample pack.

    All the coffees will be of excellent quality and roasted fresh and it gives you the option of keeping a couple of the bags sealed and fresher for longer.

    It also gives you the option of blending some of them after you have gotten a taste of them as SOs.



Similar Threads

  1. NQ Gold (AUS)- opinions?
    By Moonshine in forum General Coffee Related...
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 28th February 2010, 01:00 PM
  2. TAFE Course - any opinions?
    By coffeelust in forum General Coffee Related...
    Replies: 15
    Last Post: 13th November 2009, 10:56 AM
  3. Some opinions on the M20 Cimbali
    By melatassilem in forum Brewing Equipment (non-machine specific)
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 12th September 2008, 12:26 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •