Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Iced coffee.

Hallo.

Im new here, live just east of Melbourne, and I have very little knowledge of coffee.  But I am probably unusual in that I am very fond of iced coffee, but have never got into hot coffee, as I tend not to like hot drinks of any sort, in general.  However, I rarely get through a day without having iced coffee, and this is all through the year, not just the warmer weather.  I usually have it just once, occasionally two or three times - I am not a chain iced-coffee drinker.
        If anyone else here is keen on iced coffee, Id like to hear from them; and I want to ask for any suggestions about making it.

I often drink it at cafés or restaurants, and find perhaps 50 percent are quite inadequate, and nearly the same number are adequate but not really good - quite acceptable and average, but thats all; and a very small number are truly superb - distinctly above average.  Those places are the ones I keep going back to, and I am often willing to go quite some miles out of my way to call on these places.
        The commonest problem is getting cafés to make it strong enough.  15 or 20 or more years ago, I never had to ask for it to be made strong, because it was usually right anyway.  However, almost everyone makes it so weak nowadays; and the milky colour of it demonstrates that this is not just the result of my tastes changing.  Sometimes even if I ask for it strong, it still comes to me weak, which I admit to finding rather annoying.  If I think it is good other than being too weak, I will keep going back several more times, and tell them what my problem is, and I may succeed in educating them into making it stronger for me.