How not to use your coffee maker

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• How not to use your coffee maker

Im new to this science for inorder to make a good brew you need to be a scientist. I have a number of freiends who have given away their machines as they think the whole process is a total waste of time. I inherited one such machine and surely i got a better cup of coffee from the 43 bean jar. Why so you ask? Well its like this. go purchase you machine and they give some nicely printed instructions dont they. Yep they are so good they tell you how to turn it on, how to make hot water, to fill the portafilter and how to make steam. Great just great. But does all this switching and pushing of leavers make a good brew.......of course not. The first lesson then in making a good drinkable brew is to remember that they are just instructions on how to operate the machine.... not instructions on how to make great coffee. Something like Windows, they tell you how to point and click but they DON"T tell you why you have to do this!!!
    Now in order to make great coffee you need to understand a few things. read, read and read still some more, here at coffee snobs is much information you will not find in your cornflakes box!
    I nearly gave this game away as its too hard to master...but is it. First tip.. just think you are making coffee esence not a cup of cofee...that comes later. Bed time. More to come. have fun, Kualityman.

Re: How not to use your coffee maker

Wax on . . .

. . . . Wax off

Comment

^Great comeback, Rob!!

I think that its probably been said so many times were all a bit tired of hearing it now.

But coffee is what you make of it. Its not a hard science to master and certainly no more difficult than trying to put together a meal for a family, IMO. Some also consider it art, but I think mainly a bit of effort, time and care and you can produce drinkable coffee. Stick to some of the essential basics and this is what you should get.