Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

What is RISTRETTO? (in general practice)

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• What is RISTRETTO? (in general practice)

Hi,

As a newbie, I normally follows the instruction of pulling 30ml over 25-30sec for a good ESPRESSO.

Now, for RISTRETTO, from some definition: 25ml in 30-35 sec, Finer grind to slow down the flow 25-30 sec to get 20-25ml......

RISTRETTO = over extracted espresso :-?

What is the best pratice to get delicious Ristretto?

Thanks,
    C.

Re: What is RISTRETTO? (in general practice)

There are two schools of thought, one as you have described above and the second is to pull the shot short ie 20mls in around 20-25 sec. I follow the second method as I pull my espresso shots tighter than normal and I find that the 20ml in 20 sec is to my tastes.

Comment

Originally posted by 676C6568617669676C656D70040 link=1280566011/0#0 date=1280566011
      RISTRETTO = over extracted espresso  
      WRONG.
      Ristretto = restricted (usually either in time to get less quantity, or just referring to quantity, implying a finer grind)

Try both, see what you like.

Greg

Comment

Should be titled how misused is the term "Ristretto"

A Ristretto in the classical meaning is A LOT different to what has become known as a "Ristretto" as to what tastes the best by playing with dose, grind tamp and shot time etc that is the bit to play with but call it something else.

Have a read of this recent thread and the Wiki link too
        http://coffeesnobs.com.au/YaBB.pl?num=1271734890
        http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Ristretto

As to what I do for a short shot sink the first few seconds of the extraction and the last bit as the shot tails off on the lever machines. So the middle bit for me of a "normal" shot for me and my gear is the bit I like best but it is not a Ristretto..

Comment

Hi bf,