Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• to upgrade or not.

Hi all, newbie here.
    have been reading these posts for a little while now and need some advice from you experts.
    I have a Sunbeam EM4800C and have been thinking of upgrading to the EM6910. Can anyone tell me if its worth it if so why?
    I upgraded the baskets on my old 4800 to the single floor and found an immediate improvement in my results but they are not consistent. Sometimes the machine is struggling to push the water through the basket when I tamp it down to the correct pressure.
    Any advice greatly appreciated. :-/

Re: to upgrade or not.

there are a lot of factors to consider here - but the first one id want to ask you is "what sort of grinder are you using?"

this is the first step to good, consistent results

Comment

There are a lot of variables.  The grinder is the main consideration.  However the 6910 is a good starting point as I had the 4800 then bought the 6910 which I had a for a couple of years.  I started with the sunbeam grinder the best one they make cant remember the number.  It was OK but once I bought the 6910 I upgraded the grinder to a Mazzer Mini and the shots were excellent.   Then I graduated to a HX machine. 

The 6910 produces excellent results for a while but do read the threads about it in 500-1500 machine category to make yourself familiar with the issues that can occur.  There are also some viable alternatives to the 6910 that are covered at length in that section.

Good luck and remember upgraditis is a disease that all CoffeSnobs suffer from  ;D

Comment

Originally posted by 2C22223C6B322A2B22450 link=1318836685/1#1 date=1318837007
        there are a lot of factors to consider here - but the first one id want to ask you is "what sort of grinder are you using?" 

this is the first step to good, consistent results
        I am using a new Sunbeam EMO480

Comment