What about local beans?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• What about local beans?

In my professional life as a business writer, I came across a struggling Queensland coffee producer who cant get a foot in the door because of the power of importers. Wouldnt it be good to include beans like his in the polls. Im sure the quality is superb, the price reasonable - and wed be doing our bit to keep our hard-earned dollars at home! If youre interested, contact me offline and Ill track down his contact details.

Re: What about local beans?

Great point.
    The problem I see with local suppliers is both the high labour cost (passed on to the end user of course) and the perceived lower quality from lack of altitude.

Neither may be correct.

I have a feeling that we did a Skybury in the early days... but I might be dreaming though.

Someone in the forum also bought a coffee plant and some beans from a NSW grower... hands-up who that was.

Ill contact you and some other local producers over time and see if we can get some interest in at least an open minded look from the membership ;D

Comment

You pay a higher price for a lower quality product

Is the answer Ive gotten from the few roasters Ive mentioned Australian grown beans to. Ive only tried Skybury once and I wasnt a fan, but Im willing to listen to reason

Perhaps FC has some experience with Aussie beans?

Comment

I thought the talk from the owner of Skybury at CTB was interesting.
        He basically admitted that their product has not been up to scratch in the past, but he reckons they have their processing methods sorted out now.
        Perhaps they might be worth a try later in the year?

As for the smaller producers, I reckon we would need someone to give them a good rap before committing to a whole bag.

Comment

Samples might be the way to move forward on the smaller producers.

These could be sent to the people in the taster list for feedback to the forum.

Comment

Hi All,