List your coffee myths

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• List your coffee myths

I was talking to a friend the other day who is a coffee roaster by trade. He was talking about the myths surrounding coffee making.
    All of the myths we hear have their foundation in truth, and I suspect many come from commercial coffee making where you have to standardise a lot just to keep going.
    Here are a few to start the ball rolling:

If you buy a silvia and rocky youll make perfect coffee (great pairing but quirky?)

If you follow the 25 sec rule youll get a perfect extraction (great guideline if you regularly check that there is a corresponding 30 ml and no blonding)

The professionals can always do it better

The better the machine the better the coffee

Feel free to argue whether or not these are myths or the extent to which they are or arent

Brett

Re: List your coffe myths

Originally posted by telemaster link=1160879403/0#0 date=1160879403
    If you buy a silvia and rocky youll make perfect coffee
    Its true!!

If you follow the 25 sec rule youll get a perfect extraction
    I dont follow too many rules when it comes to making coffee, I just stick to technique and making my technique consistent. :P

;D Yes we can!

This one I will be serious about because its been said here ad infinitum. You cant make great coffee with just a machine, you need all the ingredients. It would be like making a cake with just an oven. Unless you include everything youre not going to end up with cake are you? If you dont have a grinder, beans, water and an operator youre not going to end up with coffee! Youll just have a great machine sitting there looking great!

Comment

Re: List your coffee myths

Well I think coffee making is more an art than a science.....

And if you had asked Picasso could a painting be made with a four inch paint brush and house paint.... he would have said no (probably not quite in those words!!)