How Much Tamping?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• How Much Tamping?

Im new to coffee snobs. Great to see there are so many people out there who are bigger snobs than I am when it comes to coffee.

I am buying an ECM Giotto. I was told at the demo that its best to grind the beans as fine as possible and just have a light tamp.

Elsewhere, I have heard that you need so many Kgs of force and hence the apparent need for expensive tampers which can measure the force.

Which viewpoint is correct?

Thanks,

Dave.

Re: How Much Tamping?

Sheesh...

What else did the "vendor" suggest?

Hope you havent bolted to the supermarket to pick up a kilo of pre-ground Vittoria....

Frankly, the guy who sold you your machine has no idea  > :

2mcm

ps. Welcome to CS Dave- You may notice that were passionate about our stuff here

Comment

I think youll find a lot of different opinions on that. I know that Alan from Coffee Connoisseurs Australia recommends a light tamp, but Ive heard of far more people saying that a heavy tamp (about 30/40 pounds) and a courser grind is the better way to go. If youve seen Oz WBC Champion Paul Bassets "Living Coffee" series, youll know he bashes the *&^% out of the grinds with his tamp

I just got a brand new tamper in the mail today Beautiful, heavy, shiny, 58mm, and FLAT - 30 bucks
      Happy tamping!

Comment

Dave, if its not too late, dont buy it from the guy that gave you that advice! If they cant tell you how to make a coffee, how the hell will they fix your machine if anything goes wrong!

I urge you to talk to 2mcm or someone similar - you will certainly get better advice and probably a far better deal!

Comment

you can achieve a nice tasting, good looking pour, albeit a bit quick with a light polishing type tamp - I have been experimenting lately after some comments by Sparky. Interesting twist (no pun intended).

Cheers

Comment

This taken from Alen Frews website- www.coffeeco.com.au/articles/tweaks.html