Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Newbie questions.  Crema? prebrew?

Hey!

Im brand new to this world of coffee, and Im feeling a little confused! :-?

I have a function on my machine to prebrew, and I was wondering if I could ask the experts a couple of questions...

1. Do I keep the prebrew liquid in the cup or chuck it out?

2. If a shot is meant to be 25-30mL, does that include prebrew or is that on top of prebrew (assuming I keep it).

3. Where does crema fit in to all this? Does the 25-30mL include crema?

4. And just one more thing...Ive read that a latte should have 1 fifth espresso, 3 fifths milk and 1 fifth foam. Well, my latte glasses are 250mL, so 50mL should be espresso right? Should I put in 2 shots or should I let the machine run longer with 1 shot?

Forgive my naivety, I am a lowly newbie. Nowhere near snob yet! Maybe one day

Thanks!

Re: Newbie questions.  Crema? prebrew?

What sort of machne do you have Boof? It may help us to answer your questions.

Comment

By "prebrew" do you mean "pre-infusion?"

Comment

Originally posted by Boof link=1183811340/0#0 date=1183811340
        Hey!

I have a function on my machine to prebrew, and I was wondering if I could ask the experts a couple of questions...

1. Do I keep the prebrew liquid in the cup or chuck it out?

2. If a shot is meant to be 25-30mL, does that include prebrew or is that on top of prebrew (assuming I keep it).

3. Where does crema fit in to all this? Does the 25-30mL include crema?

4. And just one more thing...Ive read that a latte should have 1 fifth espresso, 3 fifths milk and 1 fifth foam. Well, my latte glasses are 250mL, so 50mL should be espresso right? Should I put in 2 shots or should I let the machine run longer with 1 shot?

Forgive my naivety, I am a lowly newbie. Nowhere near snob yet! Maybe one day

Thanks!
        If I can attempt to answer your questions in turn

1) What is prebrew liquid? Usually no espresso comes out during preinfusion.