Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Buying 2ndhand Hardware

Hi all,

Im a newbie currently looking to purchase a decent home espresso machine and quality grinder, but Im not going to be able to afford a new model for some time. Has anyone got any advice or tips to share on what I should look out for? Warning signs would be particularly helpful!

Thx

Re: Buying 2ndhand Hardware

Hi mate and welcome. Firstly we need to know what type of machine that you are after. There are plenty of generic comments, but this site will be more helpful to you if you have a specific machine(s) in mind.

Cheers

Comment

Coffee machines, computers, cars... all the same.

I think the best way to start the purchase process is to pick a budget.

From that you can build a list of "likely" and then start trimming the list down depending on the features you would like/need/want.

So, how much can you spend?
      (pick a number between 10-20,000)

Comment

Welcome to Coffee Snobs Flipper.
        Youre English is good for a dolphin.
        I never missed your show when I was growing up.

Warning:
        Ebay is dangerous unless you can inspect the machine beforehand and you know what to look for.

If you cant see the machine making a coffee dont risk it.

If you cant inspect the grinder for cleanliness and quality of grind dont risk it.

The safest place to buy 2nd hand is here.
        Coffee Snobs is generally safer because we all look after our equipment.
        I bought a 2nd hand grinder off a fellow CS and am happy with it.

I did also buy a grinder sight unseen from an auction house but my son works there and I had a bit of an idea what I was risking.
        The price ended up being a steal and even though I havent fully cleaned it up yet, it looks like I was lucky and picked up a genuine bargain.

Quite a few other CS members have bought satisfactorily from each other.

How much of a budget limit have you set yourself?

Comment

Hi Flipper and welcome,