Describing what Im tasting

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Describing what Im tasting

2 weeks ago I bought 1kg Yirgacheffe from a local roaster after I had previously sampled 3 of his roasts..... This time round the espresso tastes terrible , and I rang him up to tell him I thought it was crook but he disagreed.

Im a novice here but I do know what I like. The beans second time round are dark and oily, first time they were dark but not oily..... And this time with lot 2, Ill swear the espresso tastes like charcoal on my tongue, with an after taste of charcoal that fills the back of your mouth and your tongue and lasts for hours .

From my description here , can you draw any indication that this bean has been over roasted or not ....

cheers

Re: Describing what Im tasting

Originally posted by 46415A5D46414A2E0 link=1240466096/0#0 date=1240466096
    Ill swear the espresso tastes like charcoal on my tongue, with an after taste of charcoal that fills the back of your mouth and your tongue and lasts for hours .

From my description here , can you draw any indication that this bean has been over roasted or not ....
    Charcoal taste with an aftertaste of charcoal....

Hmmm.

Its possible they are over roasted, but its also possible that theyre stale.

Perhaps the ones you bought 2 weeks ago are from the same roast as the current ones. More oils appear the longer they rest.

If he maintains they were roasted recently, then very oily indicates a roast a fair way beyond rolling 2nd.

Anyhow. Youve tried it, you didint like it, youve talked to the roaster and got no joy. Vote with your feet (or your tounge).

Comment

Sounds like you need a new bean source!
      Charcoal is bad..................... >

Comment

If hes not too far away I suggest you get them back to him asap.

Comment

Originally posted by 536F7269636275606863070 link=1240466096/3#3 date=1240482970
          If hes not too far away I suggest you get them back to him asap.