Extraction time and amount

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Extraction time and amount

Hi all, before anyone says do a search, I did and got 50 000 responses. Lifes too short to go through each one, especially when there are shots to pull. :P

So, sorry for the complete newb type question but how much extraction should I aim for from a double basket on the 6910

30 ml in 30 seconds
    60 ml in 60 seconds
    60 ml in 30 seconds

At the moment Im getting 60 ml in 57 seconds. If I try and slow it down by grinding finer the fragile and tempremental 6910 has a fit and starts to pulse. The result in the cup is pretty good.

Cheers.

Re: Extraction time and amount

Originally posted by 313027273C39302D550 link=1277455987/0#0 date=1277455987
    Hi all, before anyone says do a search, I did and got 50 000 responses. Lifes too short to go through each one, especially when there are shots to pull. :P

So, sorry for the complete newb type question but how much extraction should I aim for from a double basket on the 6910

30 ml in 30 seconds
    60 ml in 60 seconds
    60 ml in 30 seconds

At the moment Im getting 60 ml in 57 seconds. If I try and slow it down by grinding finer the fragile and tempremental 6910 has a fit and starts to pulse. The result in the cup is pretty good.

Cheers.

About
    50 to 60 ml in about 25 to 30 seconds.

Comment

Oh boy....

You need to be let loose where the big red cats might just catch ya..

30Sec... Is all I will say..  

http://www.coffeekid.com/espresso/minifaq

http://coffeetime.wikidot.com/shot-timings-and-volumes

Some one else said this:  You should always be shooting for 25ish seconds, regardless of whether you are using a single or a double or a triple basket, whether you are pulling a ristretto or a lungo. It has to do with volume, not time.

But I love this... Numbers...

Comment

Originally posted by 07282123340B27282721232B232832460 link=1277455987/2#2 date=1277456748
        Oh boy....