Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Have you had a bag of beans turn bitter all of a sudden?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Have you had a bag of beans turn bitter all of a sudden?

I was really enjoying my latest bag of coffee beans yesterday, then all of a sudden today the coffee tasted bitter. I smelled the beans in the bag and the bitter smell knocked my sox off! What could I have done to make this happen?

How are you storing them, Branjie?

Comment

Happened to me today!!! OK I am new to home roasting. Bought a Behmor and I had only done 5 roasts of Peru, when I embarked on a trial of KJM Blend.

Turned out OK, but as I pressed cool it went into 2nd crack, so ended up about CS10. Surprisingly day 3 and 4 it was very smooth both black and white. THEN day 5 BANG. Both the smell in the bag AND the taste in the cup became very bitter. Its like it just fell off a cliff!!!

Comment

I store my beans in the bag they came in, with a firm bag clip on it, and put it in the pantry However occasionally, I accidently leave the bag open for a while after making the coffee. Could this make the beans suddenly bitter?

Comment

No, I shouldn't imagine they'd turn that quickly. I was thinking more along the lines of if you store them in the fridge or freezer, but if they're in the pantry, that shouldn't be a problem. The only other thing I can think of is if they're in the pantry next to a heat source or something along those lines. Other than that, it may just be the beans and how they were roasted, as Bennett alluded to below...strange.

PS - how fresh are the beans? I note you say you have a bag clip on them, which sort of indicates to me that they may not be freshly roasted ones that usually come in a valve bag with a zip top.

Comment