Smoking Snobs?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Smoking Snobs?

Im not, but the smoking doco on the SBS is on and Im watching.
    One sample smoker said he loves a coffee then a smoke in the morning.
    It warps the palette I would think, but that doesnt mean its not just another aspect of "personal taste"!

Re: Smoking Snobs?

I tried smoking for a few weeks over 30 years ago (typical teenager - the smoking, not the two weeks bit).
    I tried a few different brands of cigarettes and cigars.
    They all had different tastes, so I can see where they are coming from.

However, reformed smokers I have known all comment about their newly recovered sense of taste.

Comment

I smoked for a few years on and off. Than, as a nursing student, I looked after a patient with chronic obstructive airways disease and decided that I didnt want to carry an oxygen tank with me everywhere I went just to be able to breathe, or be unable to even get out of bed without puffing and panting and struggling to catch my breath.

Gave up mighty fast (with the help of influenza).

Comment

Smoking = YUCK! The mere mention of Smoking and Coffee is an insult to our wonderful drink.

IMHO of course ;-)

Comment

I used to smoke for a long time. 20 years.
          Yes it distorts the taste buds, but it is a constant distort.
          EG: You get used to it always tasting that way.
          I would say it mutes the taste of things. They still taste the same, but less strong.

Its only when you give up, that you realise how much of the taste it was masking. Well, in my case and a few others Ive spoken to anyway.

The other thing you notice when you give up smoking, everyone around you STINKS!

Smoking kills the sense of smell (which is obviously connected to the sense of tatse) a lot more.

Seriousy, taking public transport after giving up smoking was nearly enough to make me take it up again.

Smokers become oblivious to their smoky scent.