Civet coffee.

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Civet coffee.

I think we can have a mature discussion on this so here goes.

First of all I declare I'm no expert on this subject, so If what I am saying is incorrect, please correct me

I'm wondering people's thoughts...For or against Civet coffee. and why you think this way.

Here is an article I come across today, although IMO not full of substance rather comment I still found it interesting.

Civet coffee: why it's time to cut the crap | Life and style | theguardian.com

My thoughts on civet coffee are as follows:

Using the so called original method of developing the bean....The thought of drinking coffee that has been crapped out by tiny critters, takes me a lot to get my head around...Silly I know, but I guess it's the way I'm wired...The thought is somewhat disgusting to my mind....I may well give it a try If I am fortunate enough to be in a position to be able to have the original method of developed kopi luak crapped out beans...

I'm not particularly a conservationist nor am I a green activist but I do NOT agree with cruelty to animal nor humans.....Yes, I am a meat eater, and fish eater but I like to know they are slaughtered in humane conditions. Regarding the commonly or well known availability of this expensive bean, the chances of it being produced by critters force fed coffee beans in inhumane conditions are very high...I guess the trick is finding such beans that are produced the original non cruel way. Would I try some civet coffee? I really don't know....If I knew the animals were not tortured and the beans were collected in the said original way, maybe...If they were produced in the common way we are aware of now...Possibly not...I dislike cruelty to animals and humans for that matter.

Thoughts/comments anyone?...

Cheers.

I think we've been there, done that.

Do a search on Kopi Luwak.

Comment