Tampers ?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Tampers ?

Forgive my arrogance or ignorance 'cos I'm just a newbie.... junior member and all that but I sure as hell 'aint stupid.
    I'm over 70 years of age and I've been around the block a few times ....
    I've been making magnificent short blacks for the past 20 odd years with a steady progression of domestic machines mainly because they seldom last more than a couple of years.
    My current gear is Breville BES840 and Sunbeam grinder EMO480 which work together well for me.... no, I'm not the smartest or best equipped Barista but I only have to please myself.
    Regarding the topic of this thread, "Tampers", I just can't figure out why they're so outrageously expensive. Surely it doesn't cost around $100 to $200 to make one ?... is there some sort of secret mens' stuff rocket science attached to them ?
    I wish I was selling them for a living.... I'd be a zillionaire in no time.
    Cheers

Your right terrawarra, it does not take a rocket surgeon to make a tamper.
    Not all tampers are created equal though and cost does reflect this.

What most of us are paying for is either looks or correct fitment(custom milled). The rest of the cost is usually name related.
    I think of my tampers as a set of wheels. They are a must but other than serving that one purpose, they are mostly cosmetic but a really good one can make a difference in usability.

Comment

You can find tampers for around $20 but they won't be as well made or as well sized. A cast tamper is far cheaper than a hand machined one if only for material and labour costs. Also many of the "stainless" cheap ones are low grade steel, not 304 food grade so do your homework before buying a "bargain".

At whatever price they sell for, a percentage of that is obviously margin... people along the chain need to eat too!

We sell some beautiful and well made tampers in the $60-$70 range and those that own one love 'em.