Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Panama Hartmann Geisha as Espresso???

Hey folks,

I picked up a small bag (150 grams)of Panama Hartmann Geisha today, freshly roasted today...

I've never tried this coffee before and am fairly new to appreciating good coffee, and even espresso in general, tho I've immersed myself in all the information I can read, videos etc...

I got a cheap 2nd hand espresso machine (Breville 800ES) to start out on, I won't have it for long as I'm going to get a slightly improved model soonish. I've also got the single walled baskets for it. The grinder I have is a Breville BCG450 (have 2 as I came with the 800ES and I already had one), which I got cheap also ($20NZD) the power switch caused the unit to die so I removed and bypassed it. It's working great now, I also removed the stopper so I can go a few notches past "turkish". I've only brewed 2 double shots on it so far, the first was watery to thin, the 2nd was bang on and damn good I thought.. (using freshly ground beans from a NZ roaster who supplies supermarkets roast date unknown, using the dual walled double basket)

Now back to the Geisha... the tasting notes suggest the following brew methods: Chemex, auto-drip, french press, syphon, and V60...

They are whole beans so I can grind them to whatever my grinder will do (it seems to do quite fine grind, tho I haven't tried clogging my machine yet.) Is this coffee simply no good in an espresso machine???? I was going to wait a couple of days before using the Geisha as it was roasted just a few hours ago, but I was keen to try it as an espresso (short black), but I'm not trying to reinvent the wheel and waste good beans...
    So is it that the Geisha is just best in the suggested methods and can still be good as espresso, or is espresso machine / moka pot out of the question for this coffee?