Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Our mobile coffee (and pizza) business - advice welcome

Hello snobs,

We have started a mobile wood fired pizza business, also with coffee attached. We're about qualtiy, world class, naples -ish style pizza and also want our coffee to be as good as we possibly can get it.

I have basic knowledge on how to make a decent coffee, but no where near the vast knowledge I see on this forum.

This thread is an invitation for you to point and laugh and say 'you fool' if that means I can become better.

We bought a second hand (OLD) San Marino double group head machine off ebay and had it shipped from Adelaide. It only has manual switches, no preset buttons. I kind of like that fact. An aquaintance of ours owns a coffee roasting business and espresso bar here and he checked out the machine and replaced a few parts for us to get it going. It works well (oh my! Super fast milk stretching! aaaagh! Love it!). But it is in desperate need of a proper servicing and clean I think. We are awaiting a mobile technician to come back to our region to do this (living out in the sticks does have its down side).

Having said that (here must come my first bashing from you) we have already begun trading from it. This weekend past we served about 200 cups. We only have one double portafilter so I am going to order a new one today to make things faster. We have been only serving one size cup and that is 355ml (12 ounce). We did a double shot for every cup unless asked for an extra shot or a half strength coffee. If it was up to me I'd only serve one size but smaller, but the western world mainly wants bigger bigger bigger and I don't really want to be bothered with two sizes, especially considering we do pizza also and simpler is better for us at the moment.