• Time
  • Show
Clear All

• hi and a question

HI guess from what i read im a newbie and fair game lol

ok never had an expresso machine b4

just need the basics to get me going like how to use,,no book with it

its a sunbeam em2300

btw my name is john i pastor a church and run a street feeding the homeless ministry in bris
    from my reading here theres an awful lot i dont know about coffe and i look fwd to learning ty

Re: hi and a question

Welcome to Coffee Snobs John.

A Sunbeam user should be along soon to give you some tips.

Do you have a grinder yet?

Comment

ty
      no not real sure what a grinder is yet
      dont u just use the stuff u buy or is it to grind bought beans?

Comment

John,

Hi and welcome to CoffeeSnobs....

The first rule of good coffee is to use fresh beans... So what are fresh beans?

After roasting whole beans last about 3 weeks before going stale - the flavours decrease and the coffee tastes dull and uninteresting....
        Ground beans last 3 minutes before they deteriorate..... So if you buy them preground they will be stale when you get them home....

We buy freshly roasted beans (many of us roast them ourselves)... and then grind them as we need them... in which case you need a coffee grinder (and a reasonable quality one) to convert the whole beans into ground beans.

Please ask any questions you need - only too happy to help.

Comment

excellent thats the teaching i need

so where do i but a grinder and the beans ,,i live near westfield carindale but

cant remember seeing them
          john

Comment

Most "uneducated" coffee drinkers buy preground beans from the supermarket.
            Freshly roasted beans, ground just before use, give an immensely better taste.

The EM2300 has the "Italian design dual-wall "crema" system" that produces faux crema from supermarket coffee.

Getting replacement "single wall" baskets may be an option and then a good grinder and freshly roastted coffee will make a big difference as I said.