Whats up with that espresso machine?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Whats up with that espresso machine?

I admit, Im pretty new to espresso making. I got a Delonghi Cafe Chic machine hoping to make some espresso, up from using a regular filter coffee machine. Now I heard only afterwards that some say Delonghi is crap but it really did not look so bad at the start.

I used some of my regular ground coffee (made with my cheap grinder) with reasonable success. It was quick and with crema and everything tasted great. Then I thought of taking it further and bought some nice beans at my local Starbucks (I bought those beans before and really liked the flavour, Brazil Ipanema) and asked them to grind them for an espresso, which resulted in some very fine grind of course. Here is where the trouble started. This morning after I out in the coffee in the portafilter and turned the thing on it did not pour it dripped with lousy tiny drops of liquid into the cup. It took 20 minutes to drip the shot, which obviously tasted like crap anyway. There was enough time to make filter coffee and finish drinking it (which is what I ultimately had to do). Strange thing is, the coffee crap that came out of my espresso machine was not simply shitty, it also had no crema whatsoever, but a large layer of oil on top, after all the little droplets of oil combined, they covered about 3/4 of the surface of liquid.

Does anyone know why the hell it turned out this way? It does not look like the portafilter was clogged or anything. Why would it act this way when presented with espresso ground coffee?

Thank you.

Re: Whats up with that espresso machine?

I suppose this is where most CSs would say How important it is to get yourself a good grinder and only grind on demand.

Getting someone to grind the bean for you does not allow you to make any adjustments in case it is wrong. The other thing is that coffee from Starbucks will most likely be stale.