No announcement yet.

Red African Cocoa / Drinking Chocolate.

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Red African Cocoa / Drinking Chocolate.

(The old poll about drinking chocolate was removed as it was 3 months old and confusing now)

In a previous thread we had a suggestion from RustyFence and some other CSrs that our drinking chocolate was a little too sweet...

So I picked up my 1kg of the African Red yesterday and made up a cup of hot chocolate.  Gotta agree with the others that it makes a nice cup of hot chocolate, but just wish it wasnt quite so sweet.  

Looking at the pack info the mix is around 67% sugar.  I used to work in the cane sugar industry and have nothing against the stuff, but 670g of sugar in the 1kg pack is proving a bit much for my taste (kids love it though, of course, and Im sure many others like it that sweet too).

I dont like the chances of unmixing the cocoa and sugar ... so maybe Ill have to doctor it a little with some supermarket cocoa.  Would be ideal if the supplier made just the cocoa available so it could be sweetened to own taste.  Would also reduce delivery costs by more than half - not having to ship a whole lot of sugar around the country. And another advantage: those who prefer the molassesy taste of real raw sugar would be able to use that rather than the white refined sugar used in this product .... But then again, maybe some people wouldnt pay $15 for 300g of the pure cocoa.

The Cote dIvoire Red African Cocoa is being offered for the first time in this BeanBay.  

This red African cocoa blend is 100% cocoa, no sugar, no fillers, no dairy and gluten free.  

The 500g packet will make 1.5kg of normal sweetness rich dark drinking chocolate but you have the choice of which sugar you add and how much of it with the added bonus of not having to pay freight for sugar.  This produces a really stunning dark red, rich hot chocolate.

8-)

Re: Red African Cocoa / Drinking Chocolate.