Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Buying a plunger

Hello all

Coffee newbie here, loves a good coffee and learning to make one myself!
    I work in IT and as such a good coffee is essential to have a good day.
    I live in Sydney and so far the best cappuccino Ive ever had is at the Central Station
    coffee cart. Now I dont go there everyday and wish that I can start learning to make
    a good coffee at home.

I googled around about buying a coffee machine and was just overwhelmed of so much
    information on how to make a good coffee! I decided I better start with a low-cost
    investment first and opted for a plunger.

Now, is there any brand recommendation to buy a plunger? Tips?

Thank you

Re: Buying a plunger

I recommend a Bodum.

They cost a bit but its worth it for the quality as opposed to the "cheap" ones around.

I think I saw some at Peters of Kensington the other day that were a bit cheaper than at other outlets.

Comment

Hi afton and welcome to CS!

For little more than a good plunger, you can get an AeroPress (we sell them).

Ive sold dozens of them to CSers in the past few months - and for good reason

Take a look here for more info...

http://coffeesnobs.com.au/YaBB.pl?num=1203772677/5#5

Comment

Originally posted by cuppacoffee link=1215261362/0#2 date=1215266247
        For little more than a good plunger, you can get an AeroPress (we sell them).
        Hi cuppacoffee,

Thanks for the suggestion, whats the difference in taste between
        AeroPress and coffee plunger for the same coffee?

Is this review http://june4bellies.blogspot.com/200...aeropress.html accurate?

Comment

Hi Afton

And welcome to CS

I got an Aeropress from Cuppacoffee before travelling OS and found that with a little practice it can make a really nice coffee. Im really happy with it.

IMHO its quite superior to a plunger and I prefer it to my stovetop. (though not compared to my Espresso Machine)