Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Coffee frustration... arghhh !!

Hey all,

Sorry its a bit long, but Im trying to explain all.

Having a tough time last few weeks with my coffee. Lately I keep getting weak tasting coffee from my machine. kinda watery with no strong or bold kick. Im kinda at a loss as to exactly why. Ill give a brief rundown and would appreciate any suggestions or help as Im starting to get frustrated. >

Home roasting. Using - Malawi  AA+ and Tanzanian arumeru, also some Robusta from last months bay. ( thinking I needed some robusta for the kick )
    Im not an expert at all, but I think Im roasting to second crack in my popcorn machine.
    allowing at least 48 hours before using.
    Im getting my 25-30 sec for 30mls or so of espresso, most of the time, sometimes its only a bees doodle from choking, so I cant grind any finer ( I think )
    Putting I think about 14-17gms in the filter, but allowing for optimum headspace with my VBM domo.
    Very little Crema. Lacks any real strength and POW in the shot that I think I used to get with mainly Kenyan AA. I think, for what should be a double shot, its pretty piss weak and Id be embarrased to serve my mates one. I try to have a good one at a good Cafe when i can to compare and they seem SO much more potent, like that good headspin feeling before Ive even finished the cup. thats what I want in the morning. The rush. tee hee.
    Milk-work is not competition standard, but its ok for me. Decent microfoam etc..
    I just dont know where or what to change ?
    Is it the beans ? perhaps they are weak flavour beans ? maybe I prefer the Kenyan ? I really dont have the experience to know all the differences.
    Is it my extraction ? should I try updosing ? is it just more coffee in filter = stronger shot ? or is that a dead end ?