Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Help appreciated

Hi all,

Well Im the proud recipient of my first ever lot of green beans (oh, the slippery slope.... ) and Id appreciate any help on making the best of them. Not especially from a roasting point of view, plenty of info about on that, Im more looking for advice on blending or otherwise. I know absolutely *nothing* about blends, varieties, origins (other than the generic arabica/robusta stuff).

Ive got the current starter pack, so if anyone can offer suggestions on what (if any) blends I could try of these, and whether any such blends can be pre-blended prior to roasting etc Id be exceptionally grateful!
    I generally drink/make a mixture of espressos and milk-based drinks, so something with a bit of body to cut through the milk would probably be the go. If it helps at all, St Alis Blend X rather appealed to me when I tried it a while back.

Feels strange and kinda exciting to be a complete newbie again at something coffee-related!

Cheers,

Dennis

Re: Help appreciated

Howdy Dennis, and welcome to the sledding club! (Watch that first step, its a doozie!)

Being that youve not roasted before might I suggest you try roasting single origins as a start? This will aquaint you with the flavors of the different coffees and will allow you to more easily roast and figure out the process. Different beans roast at different rates and roasting up a blend can be can lead to some issues. Better to eliminate as many variables as possible until you become more familiar with the roasting process and your equipment.

Start out roasting single origins and tasting them. Then make up blends post roast. Roast the beans as SOs and then blend in small lots until you find a combination you like.

Java "The roasting fool" phile
    Toys! I must have new toys!!!

Comment