Resting - Methods and Optimal Length

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Resting - Methods and Optimal Length

I have been roasting for 9 months or so with a popper. I am very excited to have purchased a Gene Cafe. Now that full control is at my fingertips in terms of times and temperature I am wondering about the imporatance of resting coffee. The reason is as follows:

i) I drink straight expresso so I tend to roast until just after second crack when a good amount of smoke is coming off.
    ii) I find that If I dont go to this point I get a citrus/acid taste rather than the mellow choclatey flavour that I am after.
    iii) Often I find that when I try the coffee after a 12-24 hrs of resting it tastes a little burnt or muddy or both.
    iv) A week later it tastes much better and the burnt/muddy taste is gone.

So my questions are:

i) If the coffee is rested in an non-airtight container will it improve more quickly? Should it be put in a sealed container after 24 hrs of resting in an open or non-airtight container?
    ii) Does anyone have any thoughts on optimal resting times or conditions?
    iii) How does resting rank as a method of improving the flavour? i.e. does it have little effect relative to the perfect roasting time?

All thoughts would be welcome.

/me

Re: Resting - Methods and Optimal Length

Hi Barracuda,

I think that this is something that one cant really generalise about, but here is what I have experienced:

*I usually like my espresso between about four and twenty one days old, depending on a myriad of factors. These days I try to age most of my home (err ... work) roasts for five days or so, but invariably I end up trying them at three days out of curiosity, then preferring them at five ;P

*French press, vac pot, etc. tend to be good to go a few days earlier than espresso.

*You can leave coffee sitting around exposed to the air to age it more quickly, but it seems to knock a few days off the shelf life.