Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Gene Cafe on its way, but where do I start?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Gene Cafe on its way, but where do I start?

Hi,

Thanks to Chris (2mcm), my Gene Cafe is on its way to my house, hopefully before the weekend because Im almost out of beans. He have me a great demo of the roaster and even gave me some freshly roasted beans to try (knowing full well Id be hooked!!)

Now, Im a complete newbie to roasting - Ill I know is that I love freshly roasted coffee beans and I was able to convince my husband that my Gene Cafe will "pay for itself" in about 2 years (but saving money is not my reason for getting into roasting - freshness and convenience were).

I also got a starter pack from Bean Bay and it has arrived.

Now what?

Which bean should I start with (in other words, which is the easiest to roast?)? What is the approximate roast time and temp? Please, keep it simple for a new starter like me!!

Thanks

Re: Gene Cafe on its way, but where do I start?

youll need to tell us whats in your starter

Comment

oops, I thought all starter packs were the same (shows how much I dont know!).

Ok, they are:

Indian Tiger Mountain
      Brazil Peaberry
      Ugandan Rubusta
      Rwandan Cyangugu

They came in zip lock bags - is it ok to keep them in these bags, or should I be moving them to another storage system? I only have the one burlap bag that came with the beens. I go through about 400 grams/week.

Thanks

Comment

Originally posted by MaryP link=1174560881/0#2 date=1174726704
        oops, I thought all starter packs were the same (shows how much I dont know!).

Ok, they are:

Indian Tiger Mountain
        Brazil Peaberry
        Ugandan Rubusta
        Rwandan Cyangugu

They came in zip lock bags - is it ok to keep them in these bags, or should I be moving them to another storage system?  I only have the one burlap bag that came with the beens.  I go through about 400 grams/week.

Thanks