Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Another Rotisserie Roaster

Hey Guys,

Over the past week Ive been doing a bit of experimenting and have finally got my rotisserie setup sorted (thanks to the pictures and info posted on this forum). My first roast was on a baking tray and i quickly figured out that that isnt the most ideal way to do things. My second roast was a 100g batch of Indian Tiger Mountain from the starter pack and that turned out ok... but my last batch was 100g Brazillian Peaberry and that seems to have been my best attempt yet. First crack at 15min and second at about 19-20 min.

My question is, how long do the beans need to de-gas for cos im going nuts waiting :-/

cheers

simon

Re: Another Rotisserie Roaster

I usually give Tiger Mountain at least a day..

However a bean like Indian Red Sea it could be 5 days...

It all depends on the bean..

I tried some TM yesterday at 1hr old and it was still nice but did need to rest a bit longer..

I am no expert by far, there are many roasters on this site with much more experience and they will give you some good advice as well

You could try doing a search of the site or sometimes google gives more results as well.

Comment

thanks boldor,

ive read about generic waiting times of anything from 4hrs to 48 hours ... ill be coming up to 48 hours on the Indian Tiger Mountain this arvo so i might start tonight and keep trying over the next few days to see how the taste develops.

By the way, when making my rotisserie coffee canister, i scratched my head for a few days looking for suitable mesh to wrap around the canister. i read a few things here on the forums but some materials were hard to find and some i wasnt so sure about because they were galvanised. I ended up cutting up those oil splash protecting things that you cover your fry pans with when cooking and it works a treat.

cheers

simon

Comment

Im disciplined.
        So I usually wait 48hrs to first try a new bean.