Indian Chikmagalur A

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Indian Chikmagalur A

Has anyone had any success with Indian Chikmagalur A from the last BeanBay sale?

I find this coffee fine as a latte but as an espresso I cant seem to find a roast that does it justice. Perhaps these beans dont work well as a straight espresso?

I am new to roasting and I am learning using these beans. I have a hottop roaster and have ejected it at various stages of first and second crack but I always find it too bitter. As I said, they are all fine roasts when you add milk, but I want something that is good with or without milk. Has anyone had success?

Ant

Re: Indian Chikmagalur A

I reckon it gets nailed on the "quick and dirty" approach. Its a bit too smooth with slower roasting methods. Go for the 6-7 minute popper blast and see how it turns out.

Comment

Thanks nunu, unfortunately my hottop doesnt give me the option of such a quick roast and I dont have a popper. My last roast was probably the best yet even if still too bitter for espresso. I ejected during first crack when it was as its most active and it made for a wonderful latte. But the search continues for the perfect espresso!

Comment

Hi all

I just roasted this today. The cracks are the loudest I have ever heard. (The Mocha Java I did was so quiet I didnt hear any cracks). This was was clearly loud through the glass of the GC. The Chik was done in a Gene Cafe at 235C FC at 12mins, SC at 15 I think. It was hard to tell as FC lasted so long.

Mike

Comment

Ive found this one tricky to roast in the Corretto and you really have to keep your eye on it especailly at FC.

Im fine getting it to first crack at around the 10min mark but then it just goes almost straight into second. Ive tried slowing it down after FC but it just wont give in!

Is this because the beans have some much natural sugar?
          Anyone got any ideas how to nail this roast?