Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

What do you look for when buying a popcorn maker for roasting?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• What do you look for when buying a popcorn maker for roasting?

Im pretty new to the roasting revolution and was wondering if there are any tips for purchasing a popcorn maker for roasting.  Im currently roasting with a wok/lid on a BBQ, however roasting takes anywhere from 25-35 minutes. I believe the style with the vents on the side are best, but are there any other things I should be looking out for? eg: wattage, capacity etc.  PS: Im lovin this new hobby!!

Re: What do you look for when buying a popcorn maker for roasting?

A Breville Crazy Popper. Just modify a soup tin with some tin snips to make a "chimney" so the beans dont fly out as they roast, and youre set. Should cost ~$50 + soup. :P Also set it up outside, as the chaff does like to fly!

Comment

I got mine of ferralbay with free popcorn for under $20 posted seems to be a fair few come up.

Brand of mine is MaitrieD and is looks the same as a couple Andy uses and has had for a long while. Flavour of the finished beans is fairly good too  8-)

pic is not mine but is the same case by the look but is branded Volt

Comment

Ive been using a Tiffany popper which works well but I have no other popper experience to compare it to.

Also using the soup tii chimney as AB describes above ( a necessary addition as the beans will overflow without one and it allows for 100g batch sizes.

Comment

Thanks for your comments guys, much appreciated!

Comment

I found a popcorn machine that seems ideal, despite the price.

Check out the Cuisinart Popcorn machine. It has an agitator at the bottom.

Comment

Originally posted by 6F484C436042434648542D0 link=1245147485/5#5 date=1245755512
              Check out the Cuisinart Popcorn machine.